Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: Activations "used up." BW10 activation denied.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Wondering if there's been any progress on this topic? Or perhaps I can request some assistance with my activations? Internet activation for my 64-bit mac installer fails, and manual activation gives me the error that my activations are used up. (If true, it's due to a handful of crashes and re-installs accompanied by a few successful activations with missing items.) I can fall back on my 32-bit installation (which I have fully backed up and fully activated and running without issue), but, well, I'd like to upgrade to Mojave.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timn View Post
    Wondering if there's been any progress on this topic? Or perhaps I can request some assistance with my activations? Internet activation for my 64-bit mac installer fails, and manual activation gives me the error that my activations are used up. (If true, it's due to a handful of crashes and re-installs accompanied by a few successful activations with missing items.) I can fall back on my 32-bit installation (which I have fully backed up and fully activated and running without issue), but, well, I'd like to upgrade to Mojave.
    Some things to look at, but the tone of the first link below seems to indicate some uncertainty about the future of the 64-bit installer. It is listed on the home page as still being in beta.

    Taken from https://www.bibleworks.com
    BibleWorks updates for the PC will also work on the Mac platform. We will do our best to insure compatibility of BibleWorks 10 with future Mac OS changes but the situation is more complex than with the PC platform. The coming macOS versions require 64-bit programs. BibleWorks is in good shape for this, and we will soon release a full x64 Mac Installer dmg. We will also be working with CodeWeavers to explore options for them to continue compatibility support for the BibleWorks Mac Installer. Finally, in any case, Mac users will likely be able to fall back to using a virtual machine (like Virtual Box, Fusion, or Parallels).

    the [activation] count resets automatically after an unspecified amount of time
    https://www.bibleworks.com/forums/sh...6519#post36519

    How Do I Update the BibleWorks Mac Installer?
    https://kb.bibleworks.com/index.php?...023KOfLckJXL4f

    64-BibleWorks-10-Mac-Installer-Beta
    https://www.bibleworks.com/forums/sh...Installer-Beta

    How Do I Update the BibleWorks 10 Executable Without Opening BibleWorks?
    https://kb.bibleworks.com/article/AA...ibleWorks.html

    BW10 64 bit Mac beta crashing on start
    https://www.bibleworks.com/forums/showthread.php?7035

    BW 10 in VM
    https://www.bibleworks.com/forums/sh...-Install-in-VM

    BibleWorks 10.0 on ChromeOS
    https://www.bibleworks.com/forums/showthread.php?6967
    Last edited by now john; 10-08-2018 at 12:36 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I have just hit this issue also. Fully understanding the logic behind piracy prevention, however it's left me in a bit of a bind..

    driven by a PC upgrade i reinstalled and reformatted several times on 2 of my machines. since then i've then decided to move both systems to linux primarily and put together a virtual image to run bibleworks - now however I have no way to activate as i'm hitting this same issue.

    i will ultimately have 3 installs running - 1 on PC, 1 on tablet and 1 on laptop where i am the only person to use it and only 1 license/instance is run at any one time.

    there seems no way of de-activating current licenses and so i'm kinda stuck..

    Anyone with any ideas what else i can do? i've 1 license remaining on the tablet i could possibly de-activate, if it means i can transfer, but i seem to not be able to find any way to do so..




    Quote Originally Posted by MBushell View Post
    The activation count is there to prevent piracy. The program contains copyrighted material and we have an obligation to protect it. The activation count is very high. We increased it before the company closed. Also, reactivation on the same computer will not increase the activation count and the count resets automatically after an unspecified amount of time. Piracy has always been a huge problem. Before we introduced activation, many times more copies were downloaded illegally than were paid for. If someone exceeds the activation count it is almost always because they have installed on a very large number of computers in a short period of time, or they have shared their activation codes. I am sorry for the problem that this causes. We cannot remove the limitation but we are working on an alternative.

    Mike

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zhewy View Post
    there seems no way of de-activating current licenses and so i'm kinda stuck..

    Anyone with any ideas what else i can do?
    Quote Originally Posted by MBushell View Post
    The activation count is there to prevent piracy. The program contains copyrighted material and we have an obligation to protect it. The activation count is very high. We increased it before the company closed. Also, reactivation on the same computer will not increase the activation count and the count resets automatically after an unspecified amount of time.
    Apparently there is no way of de-activating. Keep what you have and wait a while before attempting another activation.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12

    Default activation count

    If someone exceeds the activation count it is almost always because they have installed on a very large number of computers in a short period of time, or they have shared their activation codes. I am sorry for the problem that this causes. We cannot remove the limitation but we are working on an alternative.

    That could be true in some cases. I have a 2013 iMac and two MacBook Pro's both 2011. I run VMWare on all of them. I have never shared the activation codes. I have used Bibleworks sense version 3.5,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 and
    I own them all. I have used VMWare sense version 6 and Parallel the same amount of time. Also Mac has come out with many OS sense that time. I can't tell you how many time I have had to reformat these system because of software or OS or BibleWorks problems. I do use Bibleworks for my bible software, but I also test different programs and Bibleworks is one of them to let the developers know of any problems.
    Version 3.5,4,5,6 and I think 7 had no activation code, but 8,9,10 did. To me we really don't own the program. You are not supporting the program but yet you still have control of it. I know men heart
    is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: I just don't understand this logic, it seem to me the logic of the world and not the Kingdom of God. Any way thats all I have to say about it. No hard feeling and thank you for the use of the program.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    2

    Default Christians eh..

    Quote Originally Posted by lamonte View Post
    I know men heartis deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked:
    regardless of my own personal thoughts/feelings around on how licensing has been done/implemented, and it's inconvinience caused to me in this instance - by the sounds, bibleworks have had issues with licensing in the past? if that is true, isn't it sad that us professing christians would do this? one would think that this software, of all software(s), would have less challenges in this area...

    what's the perspective i'm missing here? perhaps the people ripping off this software are not those professing? a quick search reveals all sorts of... 'activities' that have gone round this software.. presumably if there's no demand, there's no market...

    it'll would be interesting to see the stats around this one... but sad..

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    3

    Default BW10: Cannot reactivate the licence on the same PC!

    Hello,

    I've brought very recently a used licence of BW10.

    Actually, that was last month, on 02/20/2019; I've brought it from an user of this forum who had some of them on sale.

    I've installed immediately the software on my main PC, and all worked as it should (installed, restarted the computer, activated over internet).

    Then I installed it also in my MacBook and, later, on my Windows tablet.
    I soon ended unistalling BW10 from the MacBook, because it crashed all the times.
    On the tablet, it keeps working, although very slowly (the tablet has an Atom processor, with 2Gb Ram).

    Recently, I've had a trouble with my main PC, and I had to format and reinstall it from scratch.

    This is the same exactly PC where I installed BW10 for the first time exactly a month ago, there is absolutely no hardware change since then.
    But the licence can't be activated over the internet and, if I try the manual activation, I got a message saying that I have exceeded the available activations (exactly as described in the forst message of this topic).

    I carefully read this topic, and a message seemed especially useful (thank you Mike):

    Quote Originally Posted by MBushell View Post
    The activation count is there to prevent piracy. The program contains copyrighted material and we have an obligation to protect it. The activation count is very high. We increased it before the company closed. Also, reactivation on the same computer will not increase the activation count and the count resets automatically after an unspecified amount of time. Piracy has always been a huge problem. Before we introduced activation, many times more copies were downloaded illegally than were paid for. If someone exceeds the activation count it is almost always because they have installed on a very large number of computers in a short period of time, or they have shared their activation codes. I am sorry for the problem that this causes. We cannot remove the limitation but we are working on an alternative.

    Mike
    I understand from this message that the installations counter should permit the reactivation on the same PC. But this is not true in my case, the reactivation on my PC seems to increase the activation count.

    But maybe there is more: actually, this is the fourth time I install the software using the same licence. Of course, I haven't shared the licence number with anyone else, all the 3 devices where I installed it belongs to me and are used exclusively by me.

    Well, it's an used licence, and I don't know how many times it has been installed before, but I installed it for only 3 times in a month. And the 4th time was a reinstall on the same computer. Is it possible all that?

    Can someone help?

    Thank you very much.

    Claudio

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2

    Default How do I retrieve my old activation code?

    I first purchased Bibleworks in 2010. The last time I installed Bibleworks was 2013, an upgrade when I had to install on new device, and customer service and gave me an activation code. I have a new computer again and did not think to save my code from before, had no idea this was ending. Is there any way of retrieving this? Anyone connected with Bibleworks who could take my information to somehow look it up? Thanks for any helps or leads here.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LWheeler View Post
    I first purchased Bibleworks in 2010. The last time I installed Bibleworks was 2013, an upgrade when I had to install on new device, and customer service and gave me an activation code. I have a new computer again and did not think to save my code from before, had no idea this was ending. Is there any way of retrieving this? Anyone connected with Bibleworks who could take my information to somehow look it up? Thanks for any helps or leads here.
    The code could be retrieved from the old computer if you still have it. It even could be retrieved from the drive of the old computer if it still works. If the old computer still works, the process is easy.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by now john View Post
    The code could be retrieved from the old computer if you still have it. It even could be retrieved from the drive of the old computer if it still works. If the old computer still works, the process is easy.
    I do have the old computer, and it works. I am assuming if it is easy I can get some help from the tech I usually use. This gives me hope. Thank you!

    I am praying this software company is resurrected.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •