Thread: list cases of the letters heh vav aleh, read heh yud aleh?

Default list cases of the letters heh vav aleh, read heh yud aleh?

i'd like to list the cases of the letters heh vav aleh, read heh yud aleh?

e.g. Gen 3:12 we have heh vav aleh, written in the text with a chirik

I understand that it's a qere perpetual.

unfortunately the groves wheeler morphology lists it as heh yud aleph, so the groves wheeler lists it by its qeri consonants.

if the groves wheeler has listed it as heh vav aleph, as it's written, then I could look for occurrences of that that are 3fs and i'd see. But it doesn't so I can't. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Default GSE search to the rescue

I am a data analyst, not a student of Hebrew, so I am likely to have missed something important here.

If the solution is to find where WTT (the text) has "heh vav aleh" and WTM (the morphological coding) has "heh yud aleh", you can do this with the "Graphical Search Engine".
    One way to do it is:
    make WTT your search version.
    enter period heh vav aleh on the command line (as if you were going to do a simple search) (do not press enter).
    Main menu: Search/Graphical Search Engine
    When the GSE window opens, double click on the WTT word box (the bottom box)
    On the Word Box Options window there is a box with the title "Match the following spec in WTM". In this box enter heh yud aleh@*, and click on OK.
    From the QSE (Query) window run the query ("go" button at the top of the window).

I got 128 hits, all of them in the Torah, with vowel and accent searching turned off.

--Jim
    Last edited by Jim Wert; 12-16-2016 at 11:12 AM. Reason: clarification

Thanks.. I seem to not get the results..

So I typed . heh vav aleph . I confess I hit ENTER, making that text disappear from the command line, but then I typed it again, so it's on the command line.

Name:  Dn5z2EJ.png
Views: 360
Size:  50.4 KB