Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: New Search Limits Feature

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,076

    Default New Search Limits Feature

    Hi All,

    We just posted a new exe 8.0.015o with a new feature. It adds the ability to use a verse list file as a search limit. It is accessed just like custom search limits on the command line. For example from the command line:

    l test.vls or
    limit test.vls

    will use the vls file as a search limit. It can be slow for files with lots of verses when the VLS file version is different from the search version because of verse mapping, but the remapping is buffered so it will speed up for subsequent searches.

    The motivation was a user asking to sort the results list according to actual text of the hits. This can be done using this feature in a roundabout way:

    1. Do the search
    2. Export the hits to both a VLS and a word list IEL file. The former is done via the main window FILE menu. The latter is done using the Word List Manager.
    3. Use the VLS file to set limits
    4. Click on each hit in the word list file inside the Word List Manager to see where they were found.

    The changes were rather significant to implement this so we need to be on the watch for problems. Let us know if you have any problems.

    Mike Hi All,

    We just posted a new exe 8.0.015o with a new feature. It adds the ability to use a verse list file as a search limit. It is accessed just like custom search limits on the command line. For example from the command line:

    l test.vls or
    limit test.vls

    will use the vls file as a search limit. It can be slow for files with lots of verses when the VLS file version is different from the search version because of verse mapping, but the remapping is buffered so it will speed up for subsequent searches.

    The motivation was a user asking to sort the results list according to actual text of the hits. This can be done using this feature in a roundabout way:

    1. Do the search
    2. Export the hits to both a VLS and a word list IEL file. The former is done via the main window FILE menu. The latter is done using the Word List Manager.
    3. Use the VLS file to set limits
    4. Click on each hit in the word list file inside the Word List Manager to see where they were found.

    The changes were rather significant to implement this so we need to be on the watch for problems. Let us know if you have any problems.

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    I'm not able to retrieve o in the updater. My latest is n, and it tells me there are no new updates available.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adelphos View Post
    I'm not able to retrieve o in the updater. My latest is n, and it tells me there are no new updates available.
    It should be there now. The description of the patch was too long and it caused the updater to croak.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    Okay, I've played with it very briefly, and it is absoltuely awesome. I love this feature. If possible, I think you should also put it in the limits dialog box as option.

    Also, if you get a chance, and since it would only take, what, fifteen or twenty seconds, could you put a "Close" button in the Ermie, on the same plane with the "More" button, only at the far right.

    EDIT: Disregard the option in the limits dialog request. I see now how it displays there.
    Last edited by Adelphos; 01-25-2010 at 02:32 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adelphos View Post
    Okay, I've played with it very briefly, and it is absoltuely awesome. I love this feature. If possible, I think you should also put it in the limits dialog box as option.

    Also, if you get a chance, and since it would only take, what, fifteen or twenty seconds, could you put a "Close" button in the Ermie, on the same plane with the "More" button, only at the far right.

    EDIT: Disregard the option in the limits dialog request. I see now how it displays there.
    We'll probably add a button in the limits dialog to browse VLS files. And we'll probably add a command line right click option to make the current results the new search limit (it would create a new VLS file for you). But we'll get user input before making more mods.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MBushell View Post
    We'll probably add a button in the limits dialog to browse VLS files. And we'll probably add a command line right click option to make the current results the new search limit (it would create a new VLS file for you). But we'll get user input before making more mods.
    Those two would be very nice.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MBushell View Post
    We'll probably add a button in the limits dialog to browse VLS files. And we'll probably add a command line right click option to make the current results the new search limit (it would create a new VLS file for you). But we'll get user input before making more mods.
    That's a very helpful update. Adding those search limits options to the command line will indeed be helpful. It would also be helpful perhaps to add a button to the Word List Manager so that one doesn't have to go through the Load/Generate > Load highlighted words > Create list

    OTOH...
    I'm not quite sure what this is accomplishing beyond what I can already do. If I do a lemma search or search with a wildcard character, I end up with a list of words which I can use to generate the word list. Double clicking those words displays only those results. Ie, I don't need to set my limits based on the initial search verse list.

    I can see where it might be useful to search with a VLS file limit, but given that "The motivation was a user asking to sort the results list according to actual text of the hits," am I missing how this isn't already possible?
    Mark G. Vitalis Hoffman
    Glatfelter Professor of Biblical Studies
    United Lutheran Seminary at Gettysburg & Philadelphia
    uls.edu - CrossMarks.com
    Biblical Studies and Technological Tools

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MGVH View Post
    I'm not quite sure what this is accomplishing beyond what I can already do. If I do a lemma search or search with a wildcard character, I end up with a list of words which I can use to generate the word list. Double clicking those words displays only those results. Ie, I don't need to set my limits based on the initial search verse list.
    What you are suggesting would only work for simple one word searches where the generated word list was from the same version as the search version. If the original search was an AND search, for example, clicking on the words in the word list would give a lot of hits not in the original results range.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    221

    Default

    Mike!

    This is a really cool feature!

    Unfortunately, I don't keep my vls files in C:\Program Files\BibleWorks 8\ase,

    I keep them in C:\Documents and Settings\Username\My Documents\BibleWorks Data\ase.

    So, when I type "l list.vls" in the comman line, it doesn't find anything and I get an "Invalid Search Limits parameter" error.

    Is there any way to get it to change the path it looks in? Or do I need to move my stuff back to Progam files?

    Note: I moved ase, notes and userdb to My Docs to make partial backups easier. Was that a bad thing to do?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,076

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by arggem View Post
    Mike!

    This is a really cool feature!

    Unfortunately, I don't keep my vls files in C:\Program Files\BibleWorks 8\ase,

    I keep them in C:\Documents and Settings\Username\My Documents\BibleWorks Data\ase.

    So, when I type "l list.vls" in the comman line, it doesn't find anything and I get an "Invalid Search Limits parameter" error.

    Is there any way to get it to change the path it looks in? Or do I need to move my stuff back to Progam files?

    Note: I moved ase, notes and userdb to My Docs to make partial backups easier. Was that a bad thing to do?
    We used to permit users to change all the default directory locations but it turned out to be a programming and support nightmre. So we switched back to a static directory structure. So unfortunately my recommendation is to move the files back to their original locations.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •