Thread: Backing up BW folders for multiple pc's

Hybrid View

Default Backing up BW folders for multiple pc's

I've been using and loving SugarSync's free service, thanks to the recommendation of someone here. But starting next year, they're charging for everything.

Anyone have a good, simple, equally-robust free replacement that you like?
    Dan Phillips
    Books:Web presence:
    tfo+[]l;w> hw"hy> tr:AT-ta, vArd>li Abb'l. !ykihe ar"z>[, yKi

s `jP'(v.miW qxo laer"f.yIB. dMel;l.W

I'm new to this whole thing, but someone recommended Copy to me: https://www1.copy.com/home/

I've been using it about a month. So far so good.
    καὶ ὑπὲρ πάντων ἀπέθανεν ἵνα οἱ ζῶντες μηκέτι ἑαυτοῖς ζῶσιν, ἀλλὰ τῷ ὑπὲρ αὐτῶν ἀποθανόντι καὶ ἐγερθέντι.

Default Options

I'm probably the one who recommended Sugarsync. The reason for doing so was because A) it was free, B) you got 5GB free which was more than most were offering at the time, and C) and most importantly, unlike other such services, Sugarsync allowed you to choose which (sub)folders to sync rather than forcing you to put everything in a designated folder. With BibleWorks, that meant that you could do the normal installation, then use Sugarsync and point to the BW9 subfolders you wanted to sync. Sweet!

Now... bummer about a paid service, but I suppose you can't blame them. It's not terrible expensive, but it is clearly geared for somewhat larger operations, since the minimum account starts at 60GB. If you are wanting to back up a bunch of pictures in addition to your data, it might be a good deal. For me, I'm backing up all my BW notes, timelines, synopsis, and ase folders along with all my daily working stuff, and I have less than 10GB.

So, options...

• Box 10GB free - You can do it with Box, but it requires that you edit your Windows registry. Not ideal... (Looks to be similarly tricky on a Mac.)