Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: "Could not find the verse reference 'N' in the current search version" error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    392

    Default "Could not find the verse reference 'N' in the current search version" error

    Fairly frequently when I go to the Command Line by clicking in it or pressing Esc, and enter a simple verse reference (such as "1") to change verses in the chapter currently being browsed, I get this error message:
    Could not find the verse reference "1" in the current search version.
    If you are trying to search for a specific word in the Bible text, precede the word with a period ('.'), like this:
    .1
    Would you like to see some examples?
    The same thing can happen when entering a chapter and verse reference. I have to either specify a complete reference, including book ("Psalm 15.1"), or manually reselect the version I'm using in order to go to specific chapters and/or verses. Usually this seems to happen after I've been doing something in the Analysis Window, perhaps on the Analysis tab or the Verse tab. Clicking in the Analysis tab with HALOT open in it, for instance, seems to cause it. Somehow the Command Line seems to lose awareness of what the actual current search version is.

    This is a fairly minor annoyance, but when it happens 5 or 6 times in an hour, the dial begins to move off of minor. Does anyone else experience anything like this?
    David Rensberger
    Atlanta, Georgia

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Yes. I suppose I have always classified it as a minor annoyance, but it is an annoyance.
    καὶ ὑπὲρ πάντων ἀπέθανεν ἵνα οἱ ζῶντες μηκέτι ἑαυτοῖς ζῶσιν, ἀλλὰ τῷ ὑπὲρ αὐτῶν ἀποθανόντι καὶ ἐγερθέντι.

  3. #3

    Default

    A bit of a "me too" post this.

    Yes, but I've not done the analysis that you have of when this happens. I agree it is something of an annoyance. If it were simple to fix, I'd welcome it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    392

    Default Misery loves company!

    Nice to know that for once I'm not the only one having a particular problem!
    David Rensberger
    Atlanta, Georgia

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    839

    Default Command line verse lookup shortcuts

    This problem has (hopefully) been fixed and posted for both BW8 and BW9.
    Thanks,
    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MBushell View Post
    This problem has (hopefully) been fixed and posted for both BW8 and BW9.
    Thanks,
    Mike
    I have downloaded this update, and on initial testing, the problem seems to have been solved--thank you!
    καὶ ὑπὲρ πάντων ἀπέθανεν ἵνα οἱ ζῶντες μηκέτι ἑαυτοῖς ζῶσιν, ἀλλὰ τῷ ὑπὲρ αὐτῶν ἀποθανόντι καὶ ἐγερθέντι.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    392

    Thumbs up

    A quick test confirms for me too that it is fixed. Thanks! If I'd known it could and would be fixed so quickly, I'd have complained much earlier!

    PS. This is in BW 9.
    Last edited by DavidR; 04-14-2012 at 09:53 AM.
    David Rensberger
    Atlanta, Georgia

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MBushell View Post
    This problem has (hopefully) been fixed and posted for both BW8 and BW9.
    Thanks,
    Mike
    Sorry, but not in BW8 - at least not with the examples I used.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimofbentley View Post
    Sorry, but not in BW8 - at least not with the examples I used.
    Jim, just out of curiosity, what was the exact string that you did? I wanted to at least confirm that it worked in BW9.
    Michael Hanel
    PhD candidate Classics Univ. of Cincinnati
    MDiv Concordia Seminary
    MA Classics Washington University
    Unofficial BibleWorks Blog
    LibraryThing!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    839

    Default Examples?

    Quote Originally Posted by jimofbentley View Post
    Sorry, but not in BW8 - at least not with the examples I used.
    It works on everything that I have tried. Can you provide an example? What version does the About Box say you are running?

    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •