Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Female proper names

Default Female proper names

Dear Friends,
    I want to search for all female proper names in BNM. I used the Louw-Nida-Domain to exclude female names of places in the right box.
    Unfortunately the search doesn't work - where is my failure ? Please see my Query-File.
    Thank you a lot !
    Yours
    Peter, Germany
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Peter; 02-02-2011 at 03:25 AM.

For a learning experience, try running a search with each of your search boxes separably, delete one, than the other.

I am not a expert on this, but your second box is finding all the words in the text except for the excluded words.

Try deleting your first box, than adding *@n?f?p to your list, but do not check the exclude box.

That is my suggestions, perhaps others will offer different approaches.

Al

Dear Al,
    thank you a lot ! The Query-File works fine now !
    Do you have further suggestions for improvements ?
    Yours
    Peter, Germany
    Attached Files Attached Files

How come Mat 1:3 is not showing up on your list? And perhaps others verses similar?

In the second box, uncheck, "Exclusion words eliminate entire verse".

I think this will help.

Al

Thank you again, Al !

You wrote:
    "How come Mat 1:3 is not showing up on your list? And perhaps others verses similar?"

I really don't have any clue !

Any further help is appreciated to solve the problem !
    Yours
    Peter, Germany

Hi, again.

Just in case you missed it. I answered my own question.

"In the second box, uncheck, "Exclusion words eliminate entire verse"."

We are having a big snow storm, and I keep looking out the window to watch the snow. But I need to get back to my own work. And I probably won't spend any more time on your search. I just hope this has helped.

Al

Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    Thank you again, Al !

You wrote: