Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cannot find particular copy option

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Cannot find particular copy option

    Hello everyone

    In BibleWorks 8 is there a way to select a range of verses say Matthew 1:1 to Matthew 1:25 and export to clipboard in everyone of my display versions.

    My Display versions are as follows: KJV, Stephens Greek, Westcott and Hort Greek

    So, when I paste to Wordpad I get, say, KJV, Stephens Greek and W&H Greek in Wordpad for each of my selected verses.

    This was so simple in Bibleworks 7 but I cannot find a way of doing this in version 8

    Thanks
    Edenhope
    Last edited by edenhope; 09-21-2010 at 11:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    539

    Default Popup Copy Window

    Hi Edenhope,

    The Popup Copy Window will do what you want. By default it only exports the verses using the search version, but you can change that. Click on the "Copy" button that appears immediately below the Command Line. Select the option for "Copy format options" at the bottom of the list, then select "for Popup Copy Window". Under "What Versions to include" select "All display versions". Click OK to close the window.

    Press Ctrl + Shift + b to open the Popup Copy Window. Enter the range Mat 1:1-25 in the box, and click "Copy". Now you can paste the verses in your word processor.

    Blessings,
    Glenn Weaver

    For technical support, please contact Customer Support.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Thank you

    Thanks a lot for that answer, and for a great Bible study programme.

    I set the parameters that you said, but when I entered Mat 1:1-25 in the box, and clicked 'copy' I got this error message: 'The specific range is invalid, or does not occur in the current search version'

    What to do, please?

    Ok, I am editing thisreply because I think I have the answer.

    An example follows:
    When I am viewing OT I have KJV and WTT as my display version, and when I am viewing the NT I have KJV and STE as my display Versions.

    The Popup Copy window has KJV, WTT, STE at the bottom of it, so when the range of verses to copy are NT the error is in the WTT Hebrew and if I am copying OT the error is in the STE Greek.

    I hope that is plain enough.

    Does that mean I have to change the parameters each time I change betweeen NT and OT?

    Thanks again
    Steven
    Last edited by edenhope; 09-22-2010 at 06:46 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    539

    Default

    Hi Steven,

    When you open the Popup Copy Window the button on the far left shows a version abbreviation. This version is the controlling version for the versification. Without this version indicated the program would not know what verse mapping to apply. (This becomes especially important in the Psalms, for example, where the Hebrew and Greek text numbering may be significantly different.)

    The problem you are experiencing is that you have an OT-only version and are entering a NT verse range, or have a NT-only version and are entering an OT verse range. Since neither verse range appear in the version, an error message appears.

    You can still have OT-only and NT-only versions in your display list, even if the versions do not appear on screen. This works for the Popup Copy Window, too. But since BibleWorks needs to know the correct verse map to apply, you must specify a version that contains the range that you want to export.

    In your case, since you are exporting the KJV for both the OT and NT texts, you will want to set the version id box to KJV. In doing so you will no longer have the error message, since the KJV includes the OT and NT ranges.

    Blessings,
    Glenn Weaver

    For technical support, please contact Customer Support.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Thank you Glenn

    I finally worked it out.

    Thanks very much for your help.

    Steven

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1,206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Glenn Weaver View Post
    Hi Steven,

    In your case, since you are exporting the KJV for both the OT and NT texts, you will want to set the version id box to KJV. In doing so you will no longer have the error message, since the KJV includes the OT and NT ranges.

    Blessings,
    Hey Glenn, pardon my intrusion into this thread, but how and where can one set the "Version ID Box?" I can't find any setting where one can set the "Version ID." I'm not even exactly sure what a "Version ID" is. But it seems like it would be a helpful setting to know when one of your display versions does not fit the verse range of the desired copy operation.

    Thanks,

    Irving

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    539

    Default

    Hi Irving,

    The button to which I am referring is on the left side of the Popup Copy Window. (There is not an official name for the button, so I called it the Version ID button.) That button shows the version name abbreviation. Click on that button and you can select the primary version used to map the verses.

    There is more information about how the Popup Copy Window works, so I suggest also reading the section on the Popup Copy Window in the BibleWorks 8 Help file, chapter 41 Copying Results.

    Blessings,
    Glenn Weaver

    For technical support, please contact Customer Support.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •