Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Xp Sp3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,030

    Default Xp Sp3

    MS will soon be releasing SP3 for XP. It will come out as a high priority upgrade. If you have your settings set for auto-update it will automatically grab and install it whether you want it to or not.

    Although MS is stating that there are no significant changes in SP3, there ARE some security "enhancements", so I'd wait awhile before installing it. See how it pans out for a few weeks, otherwise you might have issues with BW and other apps all over again.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    307

    Default

    I ran the beta version for a while without any issues. I currently have the RTM installed and it's also running without issues. The release itself has been delayed, but a functioning link is:

    http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownlo...e2300ebfde4.exe

    Regards,
    David Kummerow.
    Last edited by David Kummerow; 05-06-2008 at 07:29 PM.

  3. #3

    Default

    Same here. I've run SP3 for a few months and am now running the RTM version. No problems with BW.
    -- Richard

    "Contend earnestly for the faith that was once for all delivered to the saints." Jude 3 (ESV)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,030

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by richardsugg View Post
    Same here. I've run SP3 for a few months and am now running the RTM version. No problems with BW.
    Good to know. After the release version is out, I'll wait awhile longer to make sure there's no issues, then I'll try it.

    I've got Vista Ultimate on CD (a gift), but I have no intention of installing it, at least not until Vista comes out with SP's that fix all their issues.

    David, I don't know if you are aware of it, but the link you provided tries to automatically run an executable.
    Last edited by Adelphos; 05-06-2008 at 08:27 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adelphos View Post
    David, I don't know if you are aware of it, but the link you provided tries to automatically run an executable.
    No I didn't know, but I suspect it may be some setting in your browser or download manager that requires setting differently. For me, the executable is downloaded without running and I can run/install it at my convenience. The file itself is sp3 which was withdrawn but should be available soon.

    Regards,
    David.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    307

    Default

    I dug up the non-direct-download links if that's preferrable:

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

    Regards,
    David.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kummerow View Post
    I dug up the non-direct-download links if that's preferrable:

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

    Regards,
    David.
    D/Ling now. Thanks. I thought I had SP3, as an automatic update around the time VISTA came out. Thanks for posting these links.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,030

    Default

    Any of you running the latest release of SP3 now? If so, is everything going smoothly?

  9. #9

    Default

    I am, and it is.
    Dan Phillips
    Books:Web presence:
    tfo+[]l;w> hw"hy> tr:AT-ta, vArd>li Abb'l. !ykihe ar"z>[, yKi

    s `jP'(v.miW qxo laer"f.yIB. dMel;l.W

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,030

    Default Nope! XP SP3 WON'T WORK FOR ME!

    Ok, so after the testimonies above I bit the bullet and installed SP3...

    and my computer wouldn't even boot afterwards.

    And my computer is an HP, only about a year old, so there's no related age architecturue problem.

    It took me three hours to finally be able to boot into safe mode and then uninstall SP3 without having to do a complete manufacturer recovery, which would have wiped out all my data, causing me to spend several days to get it all back onto my computer.

    I had to trick my computer into thinking I was going to install Vista before I could even get the system sufficiently restored so as to be able to boot even into safe mode. Once I finally got to safe mode I was able to uninstall SP3.

    Chalk up yet another MS absurdity.

    If you have SP2 and you're happy with it, my advice is to stay with it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •