Thread: APNT Syriac Module

Hybrid View

Default APNT Syriac Module

I was wondering if someone could review the APNT Module, as I am very interested in the Syriac language, but I only know the alpha-bet. I have purchased some resources (a grammar, dictionary, ect.), and Lord willing I plan on studying this language at Gordon-Conwell next fall semester. I realize it will be extremely helpful, and I am going to purchase it, I just wanted some first hand accounts of how well it serves its purpose, and how much you feel it would help me as a beginner. Any info would be extremely helpful.

Default APNT Module

I have used the APNT module every day from the moment it first came out. If you are at all serious about Syriac and the Peshitta and use BibleWorks, you really MUST get the APNT. It is not expensive, and I would recommend it above all else - more than buying printed lexicons, dictionaries, etc.

When I started studying the Peshitta, I already had an extremely good knowledge of Hebrew, but had very limited understanding of the Aramaic portions of Daniel/Ezra, and almost no knowledge of the Peshitta at all. However, using the APNT module, by carefully thinking about what the APNT was saying and the morphological analysis of words, I was able to understand the Peshitta easily within a few weeks. I still need to learn some of the vocab, but that is OK. You will learn the Peshitta much much faster using the APNT than reading lexicons and printed copies of the Peshitta. As a bonus, I then went back to the Aramaic portions of Daniel/Ezra and found that for the first time in 15 years I could now understand those too :-)