Thread: A method for finding hapax legomena in the Gospels

Default A method for finding hapax legomena in the Gospels

Hi! I'm a Canadian student, working on my PhD in Scripture in Ireland right now. As part of my study, I want to examine how a particular translation has dealt with rare terms in his rendering of the Four Gospels.
    Is there a way within BibleWorks to get a listing of hapax legomena in the Gospels (i.e. words that occur only once anywhere in the Four Gospels), according to their lexical/dictionary form? I know that the Word List Manager can be somewhat helpful, but it seems to provide every word in every conjugation and declension, which is extremely tedious and time-consuming to go through. Is there some way to get a list of these hapax forms, by their lexical/root form?
    Thanks for any assistance you can provide!
    Murray Watson

Hi Murray,

Try this:

Tools/vocabulary/open GNTVoc; then go to tools/filter and filter by verse range Mat-Luk and frequency 1 to 1.

John Fidel

Default Thank you!

John,
    Absolutely brilliant....exactly what I was searching for! Thanks so much....you've saved me a MOUNTAIN of time searching word-by-word by hand!
    Murray

Default P.S. to last message

Hi again John....and once again, thanks for drawing my attention to a BibleWorks feature I'd never explored.....HUGELY helpful.
    However, I'm a little perplexed. As per your suggestion, I ran a filtered search, with "# of occurrences" set to 1, and limited it to Matthew-Acts (since I want to include Luke-Acts as a single corpus). It generated a list of 1932 hapax, which was very helpful.