Update forces original settings
With update BW8*7d.1, everything is restored to original settings, incl. Screen Layout, Welcome screen, shift hint, etc., and Bible versions are changed/out of sort. I save the latter, so no problem, but anybody else have that happen? Can it be avoided? Under shutdown options, I have "save setup options on exit" and "save checkpoint on exit" checked.
Loss of settings on update
I'm not able to duplicate your problem. Perhaps your .ini file was corrupted. Try going back a set point: File menu/Checkpoints