PDA

View Full Version : Masorah Notes

ugotdave
02-08-2005, 01:29 AM
Does BW have the ability to show the Masorah notes (Masorah magna & Mesorah parva)?

If so, how is the feature turned on?

I have the "Qere" & "Kethid" turned on, but I do not see any difference in the WTT text with this feature off or on.

I looked in the BW Manual and saw that the WTT has the BHS.

I am studying the Mesorah and know very little about it at this point. :confused:

Thank you

David Morris

Joe Fleener
02-08-2005, 07:45 AM
Does BW have the ability to show the Masorah notes (Masorah magna & Mesorah parva)?

No you cannot display the Masorah within BW.

I have the "Qere" & "Kethid" turned on, but I do not see any difference in the WTT text with this feature off or on.

Thank you

David Morris

If you have both qere & kethib turned on then (as an example) navigate to Gen. 13:3.

You will notice that this verse has a qere/kethib reading. Qere are displayed in [], Kethib in ().

Hope this helps.

ugotdave
02-08-2005, 09:25 AM
Thanks Joe -

I wish we had the ability to see the notes. Maybe I will send the suggestion into the BW staff. :)

The challenge would be to know what Masorite notes to use, as I am learning there are many. :confused:

David

Joe Fleener
02-08-2005, 09:39 AM
Thanks Joe -

I wish we had the ability to see the notes. Maybe I will send the suggestion into the BW staff. :)

The challenge would be to know what Masorite notes to use, as I am learning there are many. :confused:

David

From what I understand the notes in the printed texts (i.e. BHS) are under the copyright of the German Bible Society. A bigger issue than knowing which to use is getting the OK from the GBS to use them! :(

ugotdave
02-08-2005, 02:12 PM
Joe - Did the Masorites only make notes for the Torah, or was the whole TaNaCH detailed with the Masorites notes?

Thank you

David Morris

Joe Fleener
02-08-2005, 02:21 PM
Hi David,

Here is a book I would highly recommend: