PDA

View Full Version : Copy and Paste Nonfunctional Using Control Click from Keyboard



JohnMiSki
12-14-2012, 11:33 PM
When in the browse window am unable to control click on text to copy text to a Pages or Word document. This works well in the Windows version, but not functional in Mac version?

Donald Cobb
12-17-2012, 02:33 AM
When in the browse window am unable to control click on text to copy text to a Pages or Word document. This works well in the Windows version, but not functional in Mac version?

You be having the same difficulty that threw me for a loop a couple times. I don't often use the right click copy function, but when I first did, I experienced some frustrations until I realized you have to 1) select your text, 2) right click over the word or phrase you want to copy and then hover the mouse over "copy selected text," 3) make sure "copy to clipboard" is checked, and then 4) hover over "copy to clipboard" and click on that.

If you don't do the fourth step (it's a little surprising that you have to, IMO), BW won't copy.

I hope that helps.

Donald Cobb
Aix-en-Provence, France

MTan
12-17-2012, 11:08 AM
John,

Two questions:

Does Control-C (keyboard shortcut for copying) work for you?

For the problem you describe, are you holding down the Control key on the keyboard and then right-click on selected text?

Thanks.
Michael

Donald Cobb
12-17-2012, 12:20 PM
When in the browse window am unable to control click on text to copy text to a Pages or Word document. This works well in the Windows version, but not functional in Mac version?

Just as a quick follow-up to this discussion, I notice there is indeed a difference between the two versions. In the PC native environment, if you select a text then right-click to open the context menu, when you then hover over "copy selected text", a second context menu opens, and nothing will happen until you click on that. In particular, you can click and click again on "copy selected text" and nothing will change, because BW is waiting for you to click on an option in the second context menu. Doing this second step will then copy the selected text (BTW, the copied text is not thus de-selected).

With BW in Mac, however, you can right-click on a selected word and the context menu will open; if you then hover over the "copy selected text" command, the second context menu will open, but unlike BW in Windows, you can actually click on that first menu; this will close the context menu and de-select the text. That's why I had trouble with it at first; the text being de-selected, I assumed it had been copied.

I don't know if this is the problem John is describing, but there is at any rate a discrepancy between the two versions.

BTW, while we're at it, I notice that the "copy to clipboard" function (i.e., ctl + shift + b) isn't really yet geared to Mac, either: normally, with Mac that would be alt + shift + b. This carryover from Windows makes for a little confusion. Perhaps this to will be improved in the official version?

Donald Cobb
Aix-en-Provence, France

JohnMiSki
12-18-2012, 11:17 PM
John,

Two questions:

Does Control-C (keyboard shortcut for copying) work for you?

For the problem you describe, are you holding down the Control key on the keyboard and then right-click on selected text?

Thanks.
Michael

First: Using a MacBook Pro.
2) When using a mouse the copy and paste works fine. I right click on text and copy to clipboard and paste into a document.
3) When using laptop and no mouse the control click function doesn't work at all.
4) Control - C does not work as suggested.
5) Yes for problem I'm describing I am holding down the Control Key and than clicking hoping for the copy function to pop up. It doesn't. I get a circle with a line through it, indicating I assume function not available.

Donald Cobb
12-19-2012, 01:24 AM
First: Using a MacBook Pro.
2) When using a mouse the copy and paste works fine. I right click on text and copy to clipboard and paste into a document.
3) When using laptop and no mouse the control click function doesn't work at all.
4) Control - C does not work as suggested.
5) Yes for problem I'm describing I am holding down the Control Key and than clicking hoping for the copy function to pop up. It doesn't. I get a circle with a line through it, indicating I assume function not available.

John,

I realized after writing my last two posts that your problem was with the keyboard, and that I was talking about something different. Sorry about that.

I do see that you are talking about ctl + "c", which you mention several times in your latest message. I assume you do realize that this function in Mac is slightly different: it's actually "cmd" + "c". That's not the problem, is it?

Donald Cobb
Aix-en-Provence, France

admin
12-19-2012, 10:59 AM
5) Yes for problem I'm describing I am holding down the Control Key and than clicking hoping for the copy function to pop up. It doesn't. I get a circle with a line through it, indicating I assume function not available.

John, I'm not aware of the Control-click to which you are referring (it doesn't do it in Windows either). If you're trying to get a context menu, can you just do a two-finger tap on the Mac's touchpad (the Mac's version of right-click)?

Michael

admin
12-19-2012, 11:39 AM
you can actually click on that first menu; this will close the context menu and de-select the text. ... BTW, while we're at it, I notice that the "copy to clipboard" function (i.e., ctl + shift + b) isn't really yet geared to Mac, either

Donald, I've reproduced and noted the two things you report and have put them onto our list. Thanks!

JohnMiSki
12-19-2012, 02:13 PM
John, I'm not aware of the Control-click to which you are referring (it doesn't do it in Windows either). If you're trying to get a context menu, can you just do a two-finger tap on the Mac's touchpad (the Mac's version of right-click)?

Michael
Yes, the two-finger tap resolved the issue. Thank you.