PDA

View Full Version : BW + Mac - using Bootcamp?

mireckca
03-02-2012, 12:01 PM
I am a new member but a long-time BW user. I came to the forum because I recently switched to a Mac (MBP) and would like to install my BW program, and so eliminate the need to deal with a second laptop just for BW (my old Dell). I found another active thread that talks about doing so but with the Parallels program. I am a grad student and my tech folks advised me to use Bootcamp (and Windows 7) on my Mac in order to use PC-based programs. Anyone here using Bootcamp? Or should I avoid it and use Parallels? This is new to me so I have no preference (and really am just learning as I go along).

Another question - using either Bootcamp (or Parallels) and Windows 7 - what are my chances of getting my version of BW (#5) to run successfully? Like I said, I am a grad student (this degree is taking me ages) and so would like to use my old version for now since it suits my needs (dissertation) well. Thanks for any help / suggestions.

vr8ce
03-05-2012, 12:18 PM
I would strongly recommend a VM, not Bootcamp. Using Bootcamp means you have to reboot your machine every time you want to get into BW and again to get back to the Mac. That's two reboots every time you want to use BW uggh! A VM lets you run BW side by side with your other Mac programs MUCH preferable.

Given that you're a poor grad student :), you should try VirtualBox (www.virtualbox.org (http://www.virtualbox.org)) it's free, and works great.

If you don't want to do that, then I would suggest VMWare Fusion over Parallels. Parallels has a long-standing bug (three plus years and counting) that prevents the shift-key hold from working on BW's detail section.

I've run BW7 on Fusion w/ XP, Fusion w/ Win7, and VirtualBox w/ Win7, all with no issues whatsoever.