PDA

View Full Version : BW9: Is it worth an upgrade from BW8?

dhave
08-01-2011, 05:09 PM
I've been using BW for six or seven years and have been pretty faithful in following the upgrade path. This time around (i.e., with the release of BW9), I'm not so eager, in part because I'm watching my budget more carefully. I guess I'm willing to be persuaded, though.

My question: do you think an upgrade from BW8 to BW9 is worth it? Please provide specifics.

Thank you.

Dan Phillips
08-01-2011, 07:24 PM
I'll just add, sidewise, that I wonder if the BW folks are their own worst enemies simply because BW8 is such a terrific, terrific product. I remember when notes were first introduced -- wasn't that about BW6? The whole was a little buggy, and there had to be frequent updates to address issues. But about with 7 they were stabilized and put on steroids. Then 8 was gilding the lily, if that's the expression. I think one can be forgiven for wondering how such a great version can be improved on.

I look forward to finding out by experience, as well as reading others' thoughts.

Sansom48
08-01-2011, 08:20 PM
I think that it matters on what you are hoping to do. I personally think that this has been the best update I have seen them do. I used version 3.5, 5, 7,8, and now 9. However, I also tend to focus on the Greek Text, and have been eagerly waiting for a good textual critical apparatus to come out other than NA. This newest addition adds the CNTTS database, as well as the Manuscript project which make textual criticism easier to understand and closer to the original manuscripts. I have also found myself using the "use" tab quite a bit. So for me, this was a worthy update, but I have read others on these forums who focus mainly on the Hebrew and for them they do not see upgrade as good for them.

Dan Phillips
08-01-2011, 10:45 PM