PDA

View Full Version : How do I copy and paste paragraph text with full book names?



Learn with Graffix
07-07-2011, 11:17 PM
I have BW 8. How can I paste, insert, transfer, export (whatever the word is) the following text into Word 2007:


In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. (Genesis 1:1-2)

I only seem to be able to get "Gen".
I would like to be able to do that when searching: .In the beginning as well as Gen 1:1-2.
(I would like to also be able to control whether the "2" is superscript or regular text.)
Any advice?
Thanks!

Sansom48
07-08-2011, 12:19 AM
I almost feel like I am reading your question wrong, but if you are asking simply how to copy and paste something into word, you select the text which you want, and then you right click, on the drop down will be the, "copy selected text" from there you can choose the, "configure text copy favorites" now I do not know if you can get everything you want but that should help you for a start.

Mark Eddy
07-08-2011, 01:36 AM
In the BW Options Window (wrench icon) under the second heading "Output Format Options" click on the third: "Selected browse text." There you will see many options for copying and pasting. On the top right is a drop-down list of possible ways to copy. You may wish to choose "Clipboard" to start out. Underneath that you will see a number of "Output Format Options." One is "Place reference after text." You want to click that one. On the bottom left of the window is a list of what will be included in this reference. I think the defaut is book-chapter-verse-version. But you can delete any of those, if you wish.

You can make your own copy favorites, so that if (for example) you do not always want the reference added, you could make up a new favorite and name it (e.g. "Plain") and uncheck "Place reference after text." It can get a bit tricky, if you forget which kind of copying you are doing. But after playing with it a while, you can probably get the look you want.
I hope this helps.
Mark Eddy

Sansom48
07-08-2011, 03:18 PM
I can't say that I have ever dealt with the "output format options" but I am glad to now know it is there and will certainly use it in the future.

Learn with Graffix
07-09-2011, 05:42 PM
Mark Eddy,
Thanks for the info, but when I select the text and hit Ctrl-c the Ctrl-v into Word, I get:

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. (Gen 1:1-2)
(Genesis is still abbreviated).
If I select the "Genesis 1:1" at the beginning of the text (in the center window or column or whatever it's called of BibleWorks), I get:

Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. (Gen 1:1-2)

(Genesis at the end is not spelled out.)
If I select the text, right-click, then click Copy to Word, I get:

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.
2 The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. (Gen 1:1-2)

(An extra line break between verses 1 and 2--which I do not want--and Genesis is still not spelled out.)
If I hit "Ctrl-Shift-b" I get:

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2 The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. (Genesis 1:1-2 NKJ)

So, I can get Genesis spelled out (yay!), but it is convoluted: I have to either type the references into the Ctrl-Shift-b dialogue box (fine for when I want to copy specific verses--so that answers one of my original questions), or I have to put the first verse at the top of the center column, hit Ctrl-Shift-b, then End, then the "dash" key, then the end verse number, then the Enter key, then Atl-Tab back to Word and Ctrl-v (whew!).
If the verses are already on the screen, how can I select text and copy and paste it so the book name is spelled out? There must be some place among all the options where I can set that up. (Isn't there?) I think I managed to set that up with previous BW versions.
Thanks for your help!

Michael Hanel
07-09-2011, 05:47 PM
The full book names is possible, but it will take a few minutes to set it up. BW by default assumes people want abbreviated names.

Go to Tools | Options, then Bible Versions | Book Names. Now Double click Gen under the Def column. Change "Exported Verse List Name" to "Genesis". Click OK. Do this for all the books of the Bible.

Then I would advise you to save this file as something else like fullbooks.bna, so that you don't lose it or in case you ever want to switch back to abbreviations.

Lee
07-09-2011, 11:13 PM
The full book names is possible, but it will take a few minutes to set it up. BW by default assumes people want abbreviated names.

Go to Tools | Options, then Bible Versions | Book Names. Now Double click Gen under the Def column. Change "Exported Verse List Name" to "Genesis". Click OK. Do this for all the books of the Bible.

Then I would advise you to save this file as something else like fullbooks.bna, so that you don't lose it or in case you ever want to switch back to abbreviations.

You shouldn't have to do all that. Below the command line, click on "Copy" --> "Popup Copy Window"; then uncheck "Use User-Defined Book Names." This should cause all books to default to full name.

Michael Hanel
07-09-2011, 11:53 PM
You shouldn't have to do all that. Below the command line, click on "Copy" --> "Popup Copy Window"; then uncheck "Use User-Defined Book Names." This should cause all books to default to full name.

Or...if that works, you're smarter than I am :)

Learn with Graffix
07-10-2011, 12:33 AM
Lee, I tried your suggestion--but the "use user..." was already unchecked. I tried checking it anyway, then closing the dialogue box, then opening, then unchecking it (just to see)--and no difference.
Michael, um...you're saying that after purchasing what I suppose is the premiere Bible program, I have to now type in the names of the 66 books of the Bible if I want those names to be in references? Huh? (I think I found in a post a user who said he did that and still couldn't get the books to export as he wished!)
There MUST be some way! (If the only way is to make a file of those names, and if that really worked, the BW folks surely would already have such a file.) I have looked through what I thought were the various options, but just cannot seem to find the setting.
Any other ideas?

Lee
07-10-2011, 12:51 AM
Lee, I tried your suggestion--but the "use user..." was already unchecked. I tried checking it anyway, then closing the dialogue box, then opening, then unchecking it (just to see)--and no difference.
Michael, um...you're saying that after purchasing what I suppose is the premiere Bible program, I have to now type in the names of the 66 books of the Bible if I want those names to be in references? Huh? (I think I found in a post a user who said he did that and still couldn't get the books to export as he wished!)
There MUST be some way! (If the only way is to make a file of those names, and if that really worked, the BW folks surely would already have such a file.) I have looked through what I thought were the various options, but just cannot seem to find the setting.
Any other ideas?

Hmmm. . . . I know I set mine up to print the entire book name in the reference, and I know I didn't do all that Michael describes. When I go back and check or uncheck the box, it toggles between user-defined book names and entire book names. But maybe there's something else in addition. I'll try to play around with it as time allows.

LWG, here is a screenshot of my settings:

https://by1.storage.live.com/items/1FD48ACC5AF3AF2B%21180:Scaled1024/Popup%20Copy%20Window%20Settings.jpg?psid=1&ck=0&ex=720


Again, I have mine set to print out the whole book in the reference, and I don't know where else I would have changed it other than here. You might compare your settings with mine and see if anything potentially significant is different.

Michael Hanel
07-10-2011, 01:49 AM
Michael, um...you're saying that after purchasing what I suppose is the premiere Bible program, I have to now type in the names of the 66 books of the Bible if I want those names to be in references? Huh? (I think I found in a post a user who said he did that and still couldn't get the books to export as he wished!)
There MUST be some way! (If the only way is to make a file of those names, and if that really worked, the BW folks surely would already have such a file.) I have looked through what I thought were the various options, but just cannot seem to find the setting.
Any other ideas?

Sarcasm or not, all I'm telling you is that my method works (at the end, do make sure "use user-defined book names" is checked). If Lee's method works, that's fine too. But you wanted a solution and I gave you one. I hope you find a better one, but I can only tell you what I know.

I've even made the file for you (http://bibleworks.oldinthenew.org/misc/fullbooks.zip). Unzip the file to you \init\ folder. Just be sure to go to the Options and open fullbooks.bna as your book name database.

Learn with Graffix
07-27-2011, 06:56 PM
I still get abbreviated names with Ctrl-c then Ctrl-v in MS Word! Using the Ctrl-shift-b gives full names, but, as I said, it is much less convenient.
Any ideas?
(BTW, it was really kind of you to send that file! Thanks!)

Michael Hanel
07-27-2011, 07:02 PM
I still get abbreviated names with Ctrl-c then Ctrl-v in MS Word! Using the Ctrl-shift-b gives full names, but, as I said, it is much less convenient.
Any ideas?
(BTW, it was really kind of you to send that file! Thanks!)

[Fixed this via email with him. He hadn't properly configured the copy settings.]

bink
08-27-2012, 12:52 PM
Is it possible to copy a resource and save it on another computer of mine to have handy. Just returned from CO and a few weeks in mountain weather and wished I had a copy of one of my Hebrew grammars to reference/read alongside my paperback BHS. Wanted to know if I could put it in Word to take with me next time.

jwb

Mark Eddy
08-28-2012, 12:41 AM
I think BibleWorks works better than you think. You can actually install BibleWorks on two of your own computers, e.g. one at home, and one you carry around (on vacation?). So everything you have on your home or work computer you can have on your laptop, or whatever computer you have Word installed on. So you do not have to copy any of the Hebrew grammars (they might look funny in Word with formatting issues). You can just install the complete BibleWorks on your carry-along computer, and take everything wherever you go! I do this regularly, and just copy any work I have done (notes, bww files, etc.) on one computer unto a thumb drive and paste those files into the other computer in the appropriate BibleWorks folder.
Mark Eddy