PDA

View Full Version : BW search question

Stouks
06-19-2011, 10:51 AM
I am relatively new to BW and am still having some issues with Greek searches. I am sure this will be a very basic question, but I will ask anyway.

I want to search the NT for the exact for the GREEK phrase in 2 Pet 1:20 that is made up of the first 3 words in the verse. In English the phrase is "know this first of all" (Greek: touto proton ginoskontes). I know this exact phrase occurs in 2 Pet 3:3.

So, can I simply put this exact Greek phrase in the search line as it appears: .'touto proton ginoskontes ? This doesn't work. Do I have to put each element in the line in its lexical form, like: 'outos....?

Thanks for your help

Adelphos
06-19-2011, 12:46 PM
So, can I simply put this exact Greek phrase in the search line as it appears: .'touto proton ginoskontes ? This doesn't work. Do I have to put each element in the line in its lexical form, like: 'outos....?

There are two easy ways to do this. The first way is typing it in with the apostrophe as the beginning symbol. You don't add any punctuation, such as a question mark or whatever. If this didn't work it's because you typed something wrong, as I just tried it and it worked fine. Either that or you have your search limits set which confines to narrowly, or perhaps you didn't have a Greek version as your search version.

The second method is somewhat easier. Just highlight the three words, i.e., the phrase you want to search for, and then right-click on it, then choose "search for phrase"

Mark Eddy
06-19-2011, 03:28 PM