PDA

View Full Version : External Link e-Sword

Adelphos
11-06-2010, 11:51 AM
My main computer died and so I've had to set up my BW configurations on my other computer. I can get the ELM to open e-Sword, but I can't remember what command I use to make e-Sword open to the verse I'm in in BW. Does anyone know?

MGVH
11-06-2010, 11:40 PM
This does it for me in terms of opening to the verse I'm studying.

Adelphos
11-07-2010, 10:08 AM
Thanks a bunch, Mark. That is exactly what I was looking for. I was missing the data in the Parameters field.

Andrew
02-21-2012, 10:36 PM
Mark, I tried your setup as posted. It opens E-Sword for me, but does not go to the verse. Is there anything I might be missing in the parameters field?

MGVH
02-22-2012, 01:26 AM
Double check that BW is providing the Verse Reference and Bible Verse in the top of the ELM window.

On the parameter line, make sure that it is this:
-v <book> <chapter>:<verse>

Note: minus before v; spaces before/after the book
It's possible that not all BW book names have a match in eSword book names...

DavidR
02-22-2012, 10:11 AM
I just took a look at the e-Sword Web site, and I'm wondering what it has that BW lacks, other than being free. I can't find a list of Bible versions that it contains, but I'm wondering what advantage there would be in having both programs.

Thanks!

MGVH
02-22-2012, 01:49 PM
I still keep e-Sword around for a variety of reasons:

Bibles:You can get the Good News and CEV versions which are not available in BW. (Usually, though, I check these by using an external link from BW.)
STEP Viewer: I have some older books from back in the day (Parsons) that used the STEP format, notably, HC Kee's Cambridge Annotated Bible. e-Sword has a built-in STEP viewer so I can still use it.
Graphics: There are some interesting and useful graphics modules (ABS maps, some art, and some classic atlases)

DavidR
02-22-2012, 02:07 PM
Thanks! :)

Joan Korte
02-22-2012, 02:49 PM