PDA

View Full Version : Proposed WLM Study of Pastoral Epistles

Noel Fitzpatrick
09-27-2009, 06:13 PM
As I am studying the Pastoral Epistles at present, using the WLM I would like to find out unique words, especially nouns, in 1Ti, 2Ti and Tit.

I have some preliminary problems.

1. How do I list Greek lemmas using BNT/M?
2. How can I form a word list with lemmas in several Epistles, e.g. Rom 1:1 - 2Th 3:18 and Phm?
3. What is the best way to undertake my study?

Regards and Thanks.

Adelphos
09-27-2009, 07:04 PM
As I am studying the Pastoral Epistles at present, using the WLM I would like to find out unique words, especially nouns, in 1Ti, 2Ti and Tit...

One of the many great things about BibleWorks is that there are a ton of different ways to break it all down and then compare all the various permutations. Here's the way I would do it, at least initially...

To begin, I would initially break it down book-by-book. Make BNM your search version. Set your search limits to 1Ti.

Now type on the CL -- .*@n????

This will give you all nouns in 1Ti. Now import those into the first window in the WLM. After you have them in the WLM, save the list as an IEL file (from the File Menu).

Click on the secondary window button in WLM to make that the active window. With the WLM still open, go back to the Browse window and now set your search limits to 2Ti. Now repeat the same search as above.

This will give you all the nouns in 2Ti. Now import that list into the secondary window in the WLM. Once again, save this also as an IEL file.

You can now perform comparisons between the two windows, such as common words and uncommon words. You can also exclude/include certain words and various word groupings.

You would also, of course, want to clear at least one of the two windows and perform the same action for the book of Titus.