PDA

View Full Version : BibleWorks 7 on CrossOver for Mac

stclark81
09-16-2009, 12:51 PM
It's been a little over a year now since I got my MacBook. In that time I've been running BibleWorks 7 on it using VMWare Fusion. For the most part, I've been fairly happy with this setup, but by the same token, VMWare is a bit of a memory hog, and can slow my system down a bit. I tried installing BW with CrossOver a few months ago, but the installation failed partway through, and I've never gotten around to trying it again.

So my question is this: is anybody else out there running BibleWorks on a Mac with CrossOver? If so, did you have any problems setting it up (and do you have any tips to help me), and do you have any thoughts about using it versus using VMWare?

Thanks!

ccozier
09-16-2009, 03:00 PM
I've been running BW 8 on a MBP for a few months now. Prior to that I ran BW7 on Linux. I used Virtual Box on both platforms with a Wine install as a backup. I agree that BW on Virtual Box (and I assume VMWare from what you've said) is a memory / processor hog. Not fatal...it will run. But just a bit too slow to work with for hours a day. I've had a very stable CrossOver install for the past few months, but when I upgraded to Snow Leopard something changed. BW8 now crashes every time I try to run it. I've reinstalled in a new bottle (XP) and still no joy. I've read that you should use Vista rather than XP for the CrossOver bottle, but I can't find a copy of Explorer that will run in a Vista bottle. So....at least with Snow Leopard I seem to have worked myself into a corner.

When last I had BW8 running on CrossOver....I had about 80% functionality. I had to get a chm reader for the help files, and the toolbar didn't work. But... the lexical reader was fine and copy / paste seemed to work great. Like I said....something like 80% functionality.

Any one else have post-Snow Leopard problems?

Ken80904
10-01-2009, 03:23 PM