PDA

View Full Version : Text Critical Issues

ISalzman
08-29-2009, 06:01 PM
As I am fairly new to New Testament text criticism, I thought I might post a few questions that will probably seem basic to you savvy, experienced ones out there. But nonethess, I shall proceed.

1. Is it a fair question to ask if there have ever been any rescensions to the Textus Receptus? I Know that the question may almost seem to be a contradiction in terms, but have there been revisions made to the TR? And have they been universally received amongst TR folks?

2. What Greek NT text today most closely reflects the TR? Would it be Scrivener's 1894 NT? How would Robinson-Pierpont differ from it?

3. Which Greek NT text within BibleWorks most closely replicates the TR?

4. What text-type or family of manuscripts would B Vaticanus follow?

5. What would be the best book out there today to read up on NT Textual Criticism? Something akin to Ernst Wurthwein or Ellis Brotzman on the OT.

6. Also, I've heard that David Allan Black has got a pretty good volume on NT textual criticism. Any comments on this text?

I realize I've put up quite a few questions. Thanks for any takers.

Adelphos
08-29-2009, 06:34 PM
1. Is it a fair question to ask if there have ever been any rescensions to the Textus Receptus? I Know that the question may almost seem to be a contradiction in terms, but have there been revisions made to the TR? And have they been universally received amongst TR folks?

Yes. The changes have been for the most part insignificant. The KJV translators not only employed various editions of the TR, but engaged in textual criticism themselves, both in the Old and New Testaments, and likewise were masters of the Masorah in the Old Testament, unlike any group today.

2. What Greek NT text today most closely reflects the TR? Would it be Scrivener's 1894 NT? How would Robinson-Pierpont differ from it?