PDA

View Full Version : Please educate me re Tischendorf

ISalzman
08-28-2009, 06:53 PM
I'm new to Tischendorf. I always assumed him to be a "Textus Receptus" guy, if you will. But I was studying Matthew 18:15, which has a variant there. The NA27 critical edition reads:

Ἐὰν δὲ ἁμαρτήσῃ [εἰς σὲ] ὁ ἀδελφός σου

The eis se is considered doubtful, as indicated by the parentheses. When you open up Tischendorf's critical apparatus, he renders the verse without the eis se, and comments that several manuscripts (such as Sinaiticus) lack support for it (if I properly understand the Latin "sine" to mean "without"). What's the deal here? Is Tischendorf Textus Receptus or not? Grateful for any information. Thanks.

Irving

Adelphos
08-28-2009, 08:08 PM
I'm new to Tischendorf. I always assumed him to be a "Textus Receptus" guy, if you will... What's the deal here? Is Tischendorf Textus Receptus or not?

Tischendorf was about as far from being Textus Receptus as the West coast is from the East. After Tischendorf "discovered" Sinaiticus Aleph, he aborted his common sense and his critical thinking abilities completely and followed "his" manuscript in every case where it was possible to do so without being absolutely, utterly absurd. That's why his apparatus is also heavily biased, but it is still far more comprehensive and useful than NA27/UBS4.

ISalzman
08-28-2009, 08:38 PM
Tischendorf was about as far from being Textus Receptus as the West coast is from the East. After Tischendorf "discovered" Sinaiticus Aleph,

Sinaiticus and Aleph are one and the same, are they not? I've never heard the manuscript refered to as "Sinaiticus Aleph" before. Usually, I hear people speak of Sinaiticus or Aleph and understand them to be one and the same. Right?

he aborted his common sense and his critical thinking abilities completely and followed "his" manuscript in every case where it was possible to do so without being absolutely, utterly absurd.

Glad you're not overly emotional about it.:o