PDA

View Full Version : Doing Word Studies Across Multiple Databases

dbielby
06-02-2009, 04:38 PM
Now that BW has some really great resources in it, like Philo, Josephus, Pseudepigraph, and others, I would like to change the way I do word studies. Here's what I want to do and I'm wondering if anyone out there knows how I can set up a search to do this in one click after I punch in the lemma? If so, can you help me get to that point?

1) Identify a noun/verb to study (this week I am doing UPOMONH from 2 Peter 1:6. 2) Search for that verb in a variety of databases: LXX & GNT, Apostolic Fathers, Philo, Josephus, Apocrypha, Pseudepigrapha and others that I may want to add in as they become available. I would like to then take the English and Greek text for these verses and add them into one file in my editor. 3) ON top of that I want to be able to pull lexical entries from all my lexicons on the term(s) AND pull the semantic domain words related to the term I am studying so see if the range of words helps add anything to the information. Since I'm good at Greek but NOT great at it, I want to have the english next to anything in greek I pull.

Can anyone assist on this?

Thanks so much.

Michael Hanel
06-02-2009, 05:06 PM
Can you be a bit more specific? Like which parts of this list do you already know how to do or what seems to be the catch? Currently, it's really easy to search across all of the languages, but if you don't know how to do to that, I suppose you'd think it's not possible or not easy. It's also fairly easy to create a lexicon based on words you choose, so I'm not quite sure what you know and don't.

dbielby
06-02-2009, 05:15 PM
Well, the cross version search doesn't seem to be what I want because there are a lot of Greek versions. I just want to search a select group of databases for a noun lemma or a verb lemma.