PDA

View Full Version : Graphical Search Engine training?

MadSammyboy
04-16-2009, 04:06 AM
Hello... I'm a Dallas Seminary student, and I've had BW7 for about a year. I like it fine, but the only training I've ever had was an 'intro to BW' course one of my profs gave. Anyhow, that's been enough, but I'm in my second-year for Hebrew and Greek, so I'm starting to realize I really don't know much about the advanced features of the program. I find I'm going back to using Logos for everything because I really don't know how to use the BW tools very well.

Anyhow, so I'm trying to do a search on a particular Hebrew word in a particular stem (any tense) when it's collocated with another particular construction (I hope that made sense). Can't figure out how to do it in the command line, so I'm trying to figure out this GSE. Is this the right tool for something like this? I can't make heads or tails of the GSE; I keep trying to add words to the little search boxes, but it won't let me type the words in (I switch my keyboard to Hebrew, and I just get little tick-marks no matter what I type); I can't cut and paste words in from the WTT text or from HALOT, because it'll paste the right words, but when I press 'run query', it comes back with something like "there are no instances of ____", but the word it says it can't find is totally NOT the word I'm searching for... really weird.

Anyhow, sorry for rambling. I'm not asking anyone to tell me how to do this particular task (though if you could, that's be awesome)- I'm just trying to find a resource that will walk me through how to get proficient with the GSE. All I can seem to find are sites where people show how to do particular tasks, but the lesson files are .qf files, and I have no idea what those are or how to use them (and apparently, neither does Google).