PDA

View Full Version : saving user files



Henrik
01-27-2009, 12:56 PM
When moving a BW installation to a new computer, is there a way to insure that all user files or notes in the installation tree are identified? Is there a feature to aggregate all user files before wiping out the old installation? Maybe it's best just to store these in some other well-defined place.

Thanks

Adamsen
01-27-2009, 02:23 PM
When moving a BW installation to a new computer, is there a way to insure that all user files or notes in the installation tree are identified? Is there a feature to aggregate all user files before wiping out the old installation? Maybe it's best just to store these in some other well-defined place.

Thanks

Try this thread: http://www.bibleworks.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3505 and see the help file. Search for "Backing Up Files", which is a paragraph under Setup Options. There you have a list of (all?) file types used in earlier versions.


Backing Up Files

It is always a good idea to do full system backup before installing major programs. If you choose not to do this you should at least be careful to backup all files from previous installations of BibleWorks that you might want to keep. These include:

Timeline Files (*.era and .tl)
GSE Searches (*.qf)
Verse List Files (*.vls)
Word List Files (*.iel)
Note Files (*.bww and *.rtf)
Book Name Alias Files (*.bna, *.bnb, and books.dat for 4.0 installations)
Book sort order files (*.bso)
Cross-reference files (*.xrd)
Synopsis Files (*.sdf)
Database Definition Files (*.ddf)
Custom Verse Mapping Files (*.vmf, *.vmc)
Font Mapping Files (*.fmp, *.map)
Color Files (*.clr)
Diagrammer File (*.dgm)
Context files (*.swc)
Ermie files (*erd)
Flashcard files (*.vrc, *.vrt)

As a safety precaution, if you attempt to install BibleWorks in a directory containing a previous installation of BibleWorks you will be warned that some user-defined files may be overwritten or deleted. You will be offered the option of having the files backed up by the installation program. You can also exit the Setup Program and check yourself for files that you may want to keep, or you can proceed with the installation.