PDA

View Full Version : X-Refs not working



Bennett B. Wethered
01-13-2009, 07:14 PM
Dear BibleWorks staff, (it seems like a type of lovely irony, as I have been asking for a particular feature in the X-Refs, but.....)

Since applying this afternoon's 8.0.005v and w updates, my X-Refs has been unresponsive. The Analysis window does not change from whatever I had last had appear in it (all other 9 analysis tabs are responsive). No drop-down menu listing X-Refs options, nothing (zilch, nada, etc.).

Since there are only a few of the features listed in the drop-down for the X-Refs that are yet 'populated,' it's not much of an issue....but I thought you'd like to know. :)

Alan Sommer
01-13-2009, 09:21 PM
I, too, have had a similar problem. My X-refs don't work , and the Resource Summary tab is unresponsive. Before I applied the patch, my X-refs worked okay, but the Resource Summary tab was not working.

Bennett B. Wethered
01-13-2009, 09:37 PM
A little while ago I checked for any newer updates. I saw 2 new ones, x and y. Both had descriptions, with the x (appropriately enough) referring to items being put into the X-Refs (You're right, Michael. It looks like some nice stuff ;)).

Unfortunately, having applied both updates, I still have a fully unresponsive X-Refs. :( I have hope, however, since the update shows that the BW 'powers-that-be' are at work in this area.

SkipB
01-14-2009, 01:45 AM
After spending all day adding cross references, I loaded the latest update, and the cross references stopped working. I restored the previous version .005v.1 and they worked again. Trying to fix the display of the option window must have broken something in the x-ref window. "butterfly effect?" At least all the references are still there just couldn't display them.

SCSaunders
01-14-2009, 08:18 AM
... I restored the previous version .005v.1 and they worked again. ...I've made this a personal "best practices" since they instituted it. It becomes an excellent safeguard during times of transitions like these.
http://i43.tinypic.com/2m7aq7r.png

MBushell
01-14-2009, 01:12 PM
I've made this a personal "best practices" since they instituted it. It becomes an excellent safeguard during times of transitions like these.


We just posted a fix for the broken X-Refs. Sorry bout that.

FYI every time a version number changes a program checkpoint is stored (this can be turned off). So you can always revert. You shouldn't have to save a checkpoint manually.

Mike

SCSaunders
01-14-2009, 01:16 PM
...

FYI every time a version number changes a program checkpoint is stored (this can be turned off). So you can always revert. You shouldn't have to save a checkpoint manually.

MikeI had noticed that, even this morning when checking. But I like the redundancy. You guys have made this extremely simple, so I don't mind investing .0397 seconds. :D

Bennett B. Wethered
01-14-2009, 01:45 PM
I have just installed the most recent X-Refs update (which says "Oops"), and I can now access the X-Refs again. :D The WCS part is still empty (saying [No data for this verse] when I know there should be), but I can get to it now.

Michael Bushell, for what its worth, I'd put the access to the other various confessional statements by way of Miscellaneous rather than Backgrounds, as I think the latter is appropriate for sources that somehow serve as background for the biblical text and its period, rather than later confessional statements (many of which do connect to individual Scriptural verses).

Alan Sommer
01-14-2009, 01:52 PM
The X-refs work. Thank you!

Anyone else having problems with the Resources Summary Tab not updating?

Alan

Adelphos
01-14-2009, 02:31 PM
Anyone else having problems with the Resources Summary Tab not updating?

This is a problem in 7 as well. I was hoping it had been fixed in 8. FYI, BW Staff, unless you have the Resource Summary Window open and active, it doesn't update when you change verses in the Browse Window. IOW, if you move to another verse in the Browse Window while the Word Analysis Window is active, the Resource Summary Window is not updated when you switch to it; you have to manually move back/forward in order to get it to update.

Alan Sommer
01-14-2009, 02:47 PM
My problem sounds a little different. My Resources Summary tab never updates, unless I shut the program down and restart it. Then it will reflect the current verse in the Browse Window.

But as I move from verse to verse, Summary tab does not change.

Alan

Steve Watkins
01-14-2009, 03:03 PM
My problem sounds a little different. My Resources Summary tab never updates, unless I shut the program down and restart it. Then it will reflect the current verse in the Browse Window.

But as I move from verse to verse, Summary tab does not change.

Alan

The resource summary will only update as you hover over original language texts, not English or others. Are you hovering over Greek or Hebrew in the Browse window? It should work...

Adelphos
01-14-2009, 04:05 PM
The resource summary will only update as you hover over original language texts, not English or others.

I never knew that. I works perfectly in 7, too. I was always going back/forward when all I had to do was hover over a Hebrew or Greek word.

Alan Sommer
01-14-2009, 05:17 PM
Hey guys, thanks for responding. I really appreciate it.

Yes, I am using Greek and Hebrew, and hovering over the words. The resources summary tab content never changes. If I shut the program and restart it, then it updates to the last verse I had in the browse window.

I'm quite mystified. I may uninstall and reinstall.

Hold that! Out of curiosity, I went to the options section. There was an unchecked box at "Automatically update last active resource window". For some reason, it was unchecked. I haven't even got into the options yet, far more changed anything.

Anyhow, it's now working fine . As usual, operator error. Or, as my mechanic brother would say, "A loose nut behind the wheel". :)

Alan

Steve Watkins
01-14-2009, 05:36 PM
...Out of curiosity, I went to the options section. There was an unchecked box at "Automatically update last active resource window". For some reason, it was unchecked ...Alan

Is that in the "Options" section of the Analysis window, under "Resources"? 'Cuz mine has no such box to check or uncheck... that's wierd. What version are you using?

Alan Sommer
01-14-2009, 05:59 PM
Hi Steve,

I just got version 8, and I have the latest updates from today, as far as I know.

I went down the hall at our church office, and looked at a different computer running version 7, and it has the same option to check or uncheck.

It's under Tools, Options, Browse Window Options, "Automatically update last active Resource Window".

Alan

Steve Watkins
01-14-2009, 06:07 PM
It's under Tools, Options, Browse Window Options, "Automatically update last active Resource Window".



Ah, I see now. I was looking in the wrong place. Thanks!

bshauger
01-14-2009, 10:47 PM
Actually, if you change the verse in the Browse window when viewing an English text then click on a different resource tab (like Lexicon) and then click back to Summary it will update.