PDA

View Full Version : Creating a Verse List



Glenn Weaver
06-17-2004, 11:31 AM
At work we have 100 documents that are updated regularly with new Scripture passages added, rearranged, and deleted. There are over 10,000 Scripture passages in these 50 page documents. What I need to do is to create, and update regularly, verse lists with Bible text for each of these documents. The verses must appear in order of appearance, not canonical order. Given the fact that these are updated regularly and that the documents are large, does anyone have an idea how I can automate this? Currently the updating is done manually, and it is very time consuming and prone to errors. I don't see how to do this in BW, but perhaps someone has a creative solution.

Thank you for your help. If BW can't do it, but someone has another option, please contact me. Thanks!

Glenn Weaver
weavergl@comcast.net

Charlie
06-24-2004, 04:39 PM
Can you give some more details of what you are trying to do?

Glenn Weaver
06-25-2004, 10:31 AM
Thanks for the response, Charlie.

The documents are topical studies. Within the documents are Scripture passages and references. (The references are always spelled out in full, such as "(John 1:1)".) I need to create a verse list with Bible text of all the references used in each document. I need the verse list to show each verse in the order in which it appears in the document. I don't want to sort it according to the Bible's canonical order, or an alphabetical order. At times verse appear more than once in each document. I also need to list every verse.

Thanks for thinking about this problem. It sure will save us a lot of time.

Glenn

John Fallahee
06-25-2004, 11:11 AM
At work we have 100 documents that are updated regularly with new Scripture passages added, rearranged, and deleted. There are over 10,000 Scripture passages in these 50 page documents. What I need to do is to create, and update regularly, verse lists with Bible text for each of these documents. The verses must appear in order of appearance, not canonical order. Given the fact that these are updated regularly and that the documents are large, does anyone have an idea how I can automate this? Currently the updating is done manually, and it is very time consuming and prone to errors. I don't see how to do this in BW, but perhaps someone has a creative solution.

Thank you for your help. If BW can't do it, but someone has another option, please contact me. Thanks!

Glenn Weaver
weavergl@comcast.net

Glenn,

I am not aware of Bibleworks having such a tool. However, if the forum would permit me mentioning a competitive product that can help in this task getting done, here is a solution that should work.

If this can be done in Bibleworks, please let the forum know.

1) In Logos/Libronix goto the menu Tools > Bible Tools > Verse list

2) In the box labeled 'web address', place the full path of your document as well as the filename.

Note: This tool will read .txt, .xml, and .html files only. It can not read a word document. Therefore, it may be necessary to convert the document through the 'save as' feature and rename the 'save as file type'.

Note: Some Bible abbreviations are readable, some are not. For example, it can understand Gen for Genesis but not Joh for John.

Note: I recommend you convert one document and test the technology and see if it will work for you.


This may not get you to you final destination, but it should move you closer.
I hope that helps.

John Fallahee

Glenn Weaver
06-25-2004, 08:08 PM
Dear John,

You are absolutely correct--the Verse List feature in Logos/Libronix 2.0 is very nearly what I am looking for. One major problem is that it truncates duplicate verses. You also have to be careful with the types of references you have in the document. If you document reads ". . . there is 1 task . . ." it will list all of Isaiah 1. Also, if you have multiple passages in one reference (e.g. Matthew 2:3; 14:2) it will only read the first part, though at times it may give unexpected results (such as giving you all of Matthew 2:3 through the rest of Matthew).

The lack of ability to retain duplicate verses has me stumped. That is the major hinderance to using the Logos Verse List feature for this purpose. I contacted tech support, but they aren't nearly as helpful as the BW staff. I submitted a suggestion for a product update to give me the option of retaining duplicate verses, but I don't know if it will ever happen. Once again, they aren't nearly as responsive as the BW team.

This is a major update to the Verse List feature in version 2.1--you can now open a Word document, and type "word" in the web address box, and it will pull the verses out of the Word document.

MBushell
06-28-2004, 11:18 AM
Hi Glenn,

We'll see if we can do something for you. Would you prefer to have the verse list in a text file (in the editor) or as a BW verse list? I'll take a look and if we can do it with a few hours work we'll get it done today, Lord willing. The best we can do is take an RTF file or HTML file and extract the verses. So you'll have to save the Word files as RTF or HTML (RTF is probably better to preserve formatting).

Mike

MBushell
06-28-2004, 03:26 PM
Hi Glenn,
We took a stab at it. See the executable just posted. Let me know what you think.
Mike

Joe Fleener
06-29-2004, 06:54 AM
I don't want to sort it according to the Bible's canonical order, or an alphabetical order. At times verse appear more than once in each document. I also need to list every verse.

Since Glenn made the request he would be the better one to confirm that this is what he wants.

However, after playing around with it I think it is very close. I created a rather simple file (attached).

The VLM retained each verse even if listed twice, it retained those verses separated by a ';' and it extracted verse references found in the middle of a text string. All very very good.

When it imported them in the the VLM it left them in the order they were found in the document...again very good.

However, I believe Glenn's goal was to get the actual text of the verses in the order they appear in the document.

After getting to verses into the VLM I am not sure how to get to Glenn's final goal. If I export the verses to the CC it places them in canonical order and strips out the duplicate verses.

Is it possible to export the text of the verses listed in the VLM in a selected version to either the editor, clipboard or another document via the copy center?

I think this would get all the way to the finish line.

This is an excellent feature. :)

MBushell
06-29-2004, 10:53 AM
Hi Joe,
Actually, isn't this already available in the EXPORT menu? "Copy to editor" will copy the text of the list to the editor. It's probably not labeled very well.
Mike

Joe Fleener
06-29-2004, 11:04 AM
Hey Mike,

I guess you should know where everything is an how it works!

It works great!

It seems, by default, to copy the text of the verses in every version currently being displayed in the Results Window.

FYI: If someone wants the text in only one version they will need to ensure that only that vesion is in the Results Window.

Glenn Weaver
06-29-2004, 01:35 PM
I already posted my thanks under the General Announcements to the new update, but thank you again, Mike. This is exactly what I need. Sending the verse list to the editor does exactly what I need.


The only problem I find is that the Save and Save As features seem to be broken in the update. Other than that, this seems to work very well.

Thank you for all your efforts. I greatly appreciate them.

Glenn

MBushell
06-29-2004, 06:59 PM
Hi Glenn,

If you mean the SaveAs function for the BW editor, it seems to work ok for me. Maybe you could be more explicit on your steps.

You can of course copy the entire editor text to the clipboard, but saving should work fine.

God bless,
Mike

Glenn Weaver
06-29-2004, 08:24 PM
I should have been more clear. I mean the Save and Save As for the verse list itself in the Verse List Manager. I can export to the editor just fine, but if I try to save the verse list it won't save. I tried it with a verse list that I created manually, rather than the new import document feature, and I still had the problem.

Glenn

Joe Fleener
06-29-2004, 08:29 PM
I just tried what Glenn mentioned and I cannot save a verse list either.

MBushell
06-29-2004, 08:35 PM
I just tried what Glenn mentioned and I cannot save a verse list either.
I just tried it and it worked fine. Can you be more specific. Saying that it doesn't work doesn't give me much to go on. Does it open a directory dialog?

Mike

Mark Langley
06-29-2004, 08:35 PM
I was able to save as in the verse list manager. I am able as well to open the list i just saved. I am running "p" update.

Mark Langley
06-29-2004, 08:39 PM
It opens a window to save and mine defaults to the ase directory.

Glenn Weaver
06-29-2004, 08:41 PM
When I try to save a verse list, it doesn't do anything at all. No dialog box, no error message, no notification that it tried to do anything at all.

Glenn

Joe Fleener
06-29-2004, 08:46 PM
Sequence #1:

1. Open VLM from tools

2. Import "From document" - I imported a sample txt file.

3. File - save (or save as)

4. The screen flickers as though it is trying to do something, but then nothing.

5. From this point even if I close VLM and reopen it to "say Import Entire CC verse list" from a BLM CL query for sarx* The verses import, but I get the same results if I try to save.

6. If I close BW and reopen it. Then open VLM and import entire CC verse list from a BLM CL query for sarx* save and save as work fine.

- Save and Save as only seem to have problems when preceeded by the Import from document function. (At least for me :D)

Mark Langley
06-29-2004, 08:59 PM
Hmm! Mine is still working fine after following the steps.

Mark Langley
06-29-2004, 09:00 PM
Hi Joe,

Are you running "p" update?

MBushell
06-29-2004, 10:51 PM
I already posted my thanks under the General Announcements to the new update, but thank you again, Mike. This is exactly what I need. Sending the verse list to the editor does exactly what I need.


The only problem I find is that the Save and Save As features seem to be broken in the update. Other than that, this seems to work very well.

Thank you for all your efforts. I greatly appreciate them.

GlennCan you send me your BW600.INI file. I can't dup the problem on this end. Maybe that will tell me something.

Thanks,

Mike

Joe Fleener
06-30-2004, 06:45 AM
Hi Mike,

I sent you my ini file off line and then checked the forum and updates.

The 'q' update seems to have corrected my "save as" function. I am able to import a list from a document and then do a "save as."

Not that big a deal, but when I try to do a "save" it looks like it doea something, but I am not sure what. Since imported a list from a document, I would expect the initial attempt @ "save" or "save as" to do the same thing.

MBushell
06-30-2004, 12:31 PM
Hi Mike,

I sent you my ini file off line and then checked the forum and updates.

The 'q' update seems to have corrected my "save as" function. I am able to import a list from a document and then do a "save as."

Not that big a deal, but when I try to do a "save" it looks like it doea something, but I am not sure what. Since imported a list from a document, I would expect the initial attempt @ "save" or "save as" to do the same thing.
Joe,
This will be fixed in the next post.
Mike