PDA

View Full Version : Analytical Greek Lexicon?

heathde
07-10-2008, 12:57 PM
I'm new to BW7 and just beginning to grasp the rich feature set of this software. So far I have not found a trully "Analytical Greek Lexicon" similar to Moulton where words that are combinations of words are broken down into their source words. As in the word below which is composed of a word meaning "many" and a word meaning "ways." Am I missing something?
Thanks for any assistance here!

polutro,pwj adverb from polutro,pwj

Michael Hanel
07-10-2008, 03:08 PM
I am not familiar with all of the analytical lexica out there (you mentioned Moulton's), but to an extent various lexica in BW do this (though if Moulton does this for every word, you may be somewhat disappointed).

For instance, this is the beginning of the LSJ (abridged) entry for that word:

πολύ-τροπος, ον, (τρέπω) much-turned, i.e. muchtravelled,

Depending on the word BDAG or one of the other lexica might also include etymological hints, but depending on your level of Greek, most of the etymologies are transparent -- although there are also those that have multiple possible etymologies too....

heathde
07-11-2008, 02:11 AM
Michael, thanks for your reply.
I did see some examples of compound words for which their roots were identified but this appears to not be common. Moulton provides a detailed analysis of compound words which I think helps in identifying their usage elsewhere along with perhaps a better understanding of their meaning.
I was hoping to put aside my printed references for my laptop but this may not be possible.
Thanks again!
Dennis

Michael Hanel
07-11-2008, 10:58 AM
Moulton provides a detailed analysis of compound words which I think helps in identifying their usage elsewhere along with perhaps a better understanding of their meaning.
I was hoping to put aside my printed references for my laptop but this may not be possible.
Thanks again!
Dennis