PDA

View Full Version : Literary Genre

oblig
07-01-2008, 05:57 AM
I am new to BW and am finding it hugely useful if a tad complex. I need to sort several hundred bible verses, mainly OT according to literary genre: it may be that the book they are from is law but the specific utterance might be prophetic and that in turn might be apocalyptic, it seems as though Logos can do such a thing (I realise this is subjective but at least it is a start) but don't really want to purchase another piece of software.

I am also reluctant to do it 'by hand' as it will take me days, any ideas would be very welcome.

And please be gentle this is my first post!

MGVH
07-01-2008, 10:56 AM
Yes, Logos does have a resource with genre coding attached, and yes, it is somewhat subjective but still helpful. (OTOH, if I really need to do a comprehensive search, I'm always afraid that such subjective labeling will cause me to miss a reference that is important to me...)

What needs to be done is to create Verse Lists with the particular verses you specify. I've hoped that others would also come to my aid with similar such lists for JEPD coding, synoptic Gospel coding, etc...

So, if you spend days/weeks/months getting the verse list composed, please share it here!

Joshua Luna
07-02-2008, 04:23 AM
Mark, mentioning JEPD and Synoptic Gospel coding is quite cruel!

For JEPD, what would be the preferred way to do this in Bibleworks? Use a copy of WTT and highlight? For the most part this shouldn't be very difficult (for the Torah), but the question would be what JEPD model to follow and how deep? I would think that simpler models would work best (instead of R1, R2, R3, R4... haha).

I have a couple outlines in books, but is there one in particular others think would be most useful?

Glenn Weaver
07-02-2008, 09:54 AM
Hi Joshua,