PDA

View Full Version : Patching Under Vista



MWMiles
03-27-2007, 06:22 PM
Sorry if this turns out to be a stupid question, but I have them from time to time.

I'm running Windows Vista Business and my 7.0.018j:1 executable file will not allow me to do a web update. I remember in the old days of BibleWorks that I'd just download patches and then double-click the patches to install them. No problem, so I go ahead and download the current 7.018k patch and put a copy in my C:\Program Files\BibleWorks 7 directory. I then use the Vista incarnation of File Explorer to waltz over to this folder and I double-click on the rev1_exe_release_7018k.pbn file and the operating system throws up a window asking me what program I want to use to open this file. What would I be wanting to open the patch set with?

This may all happen automagically with XP, but I may have to do something that I'm not yet aware of with Vista to make this all go. Does anyone have a clue?

Thanks in advance,
Mike

ingosorke
03-27-2007, 07:50 PM
I don't have a solution; just adding my voice to your question. Even with all firewalls and AV programs turned off temporarily (!) I can't update BW under Vista, and I have the BW patch for Vista installed.

I just copy the 'patches' file from my XP computer to the Vista computer.

Ingo

MEJ Buijs
03-27-2007, 07:55 PM
Can't solve this problem for you, but I can commiserate - I have just the same problem. Already under 18g and i as well, I think. Solved it last time by completely re-installing BW from the CDs, as neither reverting to another version nor using the repair function seemed to help.

We are surely spoiled by the good folks at BW, giving us an update once every few days; but re-installing with the same frequency is a bit less attractive. I hope someone will figure this one out!

MWMiles
03-27-2007, 09:38 PM
I don't feel like the Lone Ranger anymore! :D

I went ahead and opened a support request for this one.

ingosorke
03-27-2007, 10:42 PM
My error message: Transfer interrupted. The internet connection was broken.

Must be a Vista thing. When I do try update with firewalls in place, BW has permission but still no success. I'll be sure to post something if I find the culprit.

Ingo

MBushell
03-31-2007, 01:06 AM
We are still trying to figure out Vista. The security features in Vista are Draconian and it is likely that there are some fetures in BW that are gone forever because they make it so difficult to communicate between programs. It will likely be several months before we fix all the Vista issues, though I think we have most of them. Most of the remaining problems have to do with situations in which BW is communicating with another application and Vista has thrown up a security wall. Believe it or not an application is forbidden by Vista from writing to its own directory. We got around that by violating Microsoft rules, but there are many similar but minor issues that we have to work through. Sorry for the delays.
Mike

Greg Crawford
04-02-2007, 11:53 AM
I had a similar problem after trying to install BW7 on a new notebook computer with Vista Business. However, after reading this thread I realised I needed to uninstal, re-install without running the application, apply the patch and then run the application. After that the updater worked fine.

ingosorke
04-02-2007, 04:05 PM
Tried the uninstall, reinstall, apply patch sequence but still no success with updating. But with patch and update transfers from my XP computers that's not a big problem.
I have other programs that won't work under Vista (yet), even with the Vista Compatibility Wizard; BW is at least fully operational.

BW should write its own Operating System and call it BMW! :p

Ingo

MWMiles
04-03-2007, 10:49 AM
I managed to get BW 7.0.018j:1 to repair itself under Windows Vista Business so that the executable would not crash when attempting to do a web update.

I did not have to uninstall BW. All I did was to hold down the shift key while right-clicking on the BW7 desktop icon. When the right-click menu came up, I chose Run As Administrator. Since I was holding the shift key down, I got the BibleWorks Trouble-Shooting Options menu. At the Trouble-Shooting Options menu, I selected Delete the BW700.INI file, Start with Compact UI, and Delete the BWEDIT.INI file and then clicked on the Perform the selected options and run BibleWorks. After I did this, BibleWorks 7.0.018j:1 started as normal (excepting for the fact that I was still likely running it as an Administrator) but this time I was allowed to run the web updates and successfully updated to the latest executable, which is 7.0.018n:1.

After the 7.0.018n:1 executable is installed, I can start BW either as an Administrator or as whatever level Vista defaults to for a normal user and check for web updates without BW spiraling out of control.

I'm not sure what part of my mouse clicking actually made any difference, so I wanted to carefully recount what I did so that perhaps it might help someone else.

So far, the current version runs fine run as Administrator or regular user.

ingosorke
04-03-2007, 12:58 PM
Tried those tricks too. (Unintentional alliteration!)

Might just be a unique case . . .

Thanks for the insights, MWMILES!

Ingo

MWMiles
04-03-2007, 02:34 PM
Tried those tricks too. (Unintentional alliteration!)


Did you try just running it as Administrator? I'm a bit slow, so I have to ask. :confused:

ingosorke
04-03-2007, 04:38 PM
Yup, tried it as Administrator too.

MWMiles
04-03-2007, 05:29 PM
Yup, tried it as Administrator too.

Well, ummm, fooey then. I have absolutely no idea why what I did worked in that case. I'm quite sure that I did not forget or somehow otherwise eliminate a step. If something comes to mind, I'll get back to you.

Dan Phillips
04-03-2007, 07:57 PM
Tried your tricks, too Miles -- and thanks for them I also tried what BW staff posted. I tried combining the two. Nothing works. It just crashes every time I run Check for Updates.

MWMiles
04-03-2007, 08:05 PM
If something comes to mind, I'll get back to you.

I didn't even have to bother with thinking. I've somehow gotten the N executable to be running on the system, but if I start BibleWorks in Administrator or Regular User mode I can't do a web update without crashing BW. The odd thing is that I could do this before - immediately after successfully patching to 7.0.018n:1.

I was wearing different shoes the last time. Perhaps I'll try changing my shoes and see what that does...

admin
04-05-2007, 06:23 PM
Hello Friends-

Sorry about this problem. We think we've found it. In this case, it appears to be a bug in the Microsoft compiler. To get it to work, you'll need to follow these steps:

1. Re-run the Vista EXE patch for BW7.

2. Run the updater, and only select the newest EXE patch. BW should restart into the new EXE.

3. Now run the updater and apply any other patch that you want to apply.

Hope that helps!
Michael

MWMiles
04-05-2007, 09:48 PM
Hello Friends-

Sorry about this problem. We think we've found it. In this case, it appears to be a bug in the Microsoft compiler. To get it to work, you'll need to follow these steps:

1. Re-run the Vista EXE patch for BW7.

2. Run the updater, and only select the newest EXE patch. BW should restart into the new EXE.

3. Now run the updater and apply any other patch that you want to apply.




Hope that helps!
Michael

The new executable is working fine on my Vista Business install. Thanks!

ingosorke
04-05-2007, 10:53 PM
Re-applied the Vista patch, but still get the message after about 10 seconds of updating: "Transfer interrupted - Internet connection broken."

Don't make it a high priority - I'm fully functional. Might just be my laptop.

Thanks to the BW folk for staying on top of things though!

Ingo

ingosorke
04-06-2007, 08:59 PM
I uninstalled the McAfee Suite that came with my laptop and installed avast and other protections and voilą -- Bibleworks is updating like a charm! BW had full permissions in McAfee, but something interfered . . .

Thanks and a meaningful weekend to all,

Ingo

tgeddes
04-07-2007, 12:02 AM
You are probably well aware of this, but I noted in an earlier response in this thread the mention that Vista won't allow an application to write into its own folder. But it will if the application runs with administrator privileges.
One way to force this is to add the program into the registry at: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers\ with the "RUNASADMIN" value.

I have had to do that with software I write for Vista and it resolved many of the Vista related issues.
Best wishes
Trevor