PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Needs Help

Noops
12-14-2006, 03:04 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to creating custom modules and ran into the following error: "Could not find a properly coded bw.js file."

The error pops up when I hit the "Tag and Build Index" button in the "Create Module Index" window.

Anyone have any idea what this is all about?

Noops

Noops
12-16-2006, 11:44 AM
If anyone is interested, here's the answer to my question.

Apparently in order to tag the .htm files, one needs to have the bwjs.js file (included in the "Sample Help" folder in the BW directory) in the same directory as your .htm files.

The error I ran into ("Could not find a properly coded bw.js file.") should have read "Could not find a properly coded bwjs.js file". That's the first point of confusion.

The second, and this is especially misleading, is found in the "47 Custom Modules" file of the online help contents. Here's the process they outline for building a custom module in BW7:

1. Create your HTML files. Add <title> tags. Name your files for proper alphabetical order, and save your files in one folder, using .htm extension as the file name extension. Save all graphics or audiovisual files to be included in your custom module in the folder with your HTML files. Save a copy of your HTML files in a backup folder in a different directory.
2. Use the Build Module Index Tool to tag the Scripture references and create the Scripture index. Add the two lines of code to each of your tagged HTML files.
3. Modify the Project file template for your custom module. Save your Project file in your HTML file folder. Copy the "bwjs.js" file to your HTML file folder.
4. Modify the Table of Contents file template for your custom module. Save your Table of Contents file in your HTML file folder.
5. Use HTML Help Workshop to compile your custom HTML Help module.
6. Modify the CHD file template for your custom module.