PDA

View Full Version : Learning Hebrew

paul
08-22-2006, 03:11 PM
I would like to learn Hebrew, even at my age. Of course I mainly want to for Bible study. Rosetta Stone offers Hebrew, but will it be too modern? Of course, just reading and pronouncing seem like a great advantage to me. Rosetta: http://www.rosettastone.com/en/individuals/languages/hebrew/level-1?_session_id=38e9ac58e2289c877123b0b0f334d929&commit=More+Information
If you have any advice, please share it. Thank you.

Ewan MacLeod
08-22-2006, 03:41 PM
BibleWorks provides all the resources you need to go from complete beginner, to a thorough understanding of the Hebrew text. The best place to start would be Futato's Basic Hebrew for Bible Study, which is available in BibleWorks 7 from the Resources menu, then Hebrew Grammars.

If you are past the stage of beginning grammar, the best way to proceed is to start tackling vocabulary. You can do that using the Hebrew vocabulary in the Vocabulary Flashcards Module. As you are learning words, start looking for them in the Hebrew text. Take one of the simple narrative texts, a story that you know well such as something in Kings or Chronicles where the grammar and vocabulary is simple, and look at the Analysis Window to see how the words are broken down. You will soon spot words you have learned in the vocabulary. Then you can start to see how the grammar, that you have learned, works out in practise.

The biggest obstacle in learning Hebrew is the alphabet. It looks different, and therefore difficult. But once you get past that, Hebrew is much, much, easier than Greek. There are no complicated noun endings for different cases. You will make progress faster than Greek, as long as you get past the alphabet.

paul
08-22-2006, 09:10 PM
Thank you, Ewan. Yes, the alphabet, and reading "backwards" are the stumbling point. I began years ago, but haven't retained the alphabet I learned then. I will investigate Futato, and I know there are sound files available, too.