PDA

View Full Version : 1 Peter 5:5, a Variant, and Tischendorf's Apparatus

Jorge
06-28-2006, 10:06 PM
Greetings!

This is my first time posting here. I have Bibleworks 6.0.

Ok, here's what I need help with. I want to know what witnesses cite hypotassomenoi (Scrivener, e.g. KJV and NKJV) in 1 Peter 5:5. I'm having a hard time understanding Tischendorf's apparatus. It seems like he cited 3 manuscripts: K[018], L[020], and P[025], all of which date in the 9th century. But if this is right, why doesn't the NA27 cite K[018] and L[020]? What other witnesses are used to support this reading with hypotassomenoi besides what Tischendorf's critical apparatus reports?

In my NA27 I'm told that the witnesses which have allelois + hypotassomenoi ("submiting to one another") are P and m. P stands for P[025] in this case, and dates in the 9th century. m stands for the majority text, but this seems vague to me. If by m it is meant the majority of manuscripts, what are their dates? How do I find this out?

Thanks for your help.

In Christ,
Jorge Afanador

Adelphos
06-28-2006, 10:22 PM
Greetings!If by m it is meant the majority of manuscripts, what are their dates? How do I find this out?

Jorge,

None of the critical apparatuses give complete citations. In fact, they generally only present a small amount of the actual manuscript, patristic, and versional evidence, although they often try to compensate for this by lumping a group of manuscripts into one category, even though the method for doing this is subjective in the highest degree.

Furthermore, the critical apparatuses you mentioned all contain numerous errors. In fact, Swanson, whose collations BW 7 is providing as an add-on module, stated that he was absolutely astounded at the number of errors in the NA27 apparatus. Of course, those of us who have collated manuscripts have been saying this for years.