PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a learning Greek.

billbello
04-16-2004, 10:29 AM
I'm new to Biblical languages. I know that BW has a 'Beyond the Basics" add-on module for Greek. But I need to start at the beginning. Any suggestions? Text or computer-based. Thanks. Bill

pastorsteve
04-16-2004, 11:33 AM
I'm not up on everything that is out there, but William Mounce's Basics of Biblical Greek, along with its accompanying workbook, is a good resource. Moreover, Dr. Mounce has a website at http://www.teknia.com (http://www.teknia.com/) that has a workbook answer key, Teknia fonts, and other helpful resources.

Additionally, if you check out the Master List of BibleWorks Add-ons here on this site, someone has helpfully compiled Mounce's BBG2 vocabulary as a .vrt file you can use with the BibleWorks flashcards function.

If possible, I would recommend studying Greek with a friend or with your pastor. It's much easier to stay disciplined (and encouraged) if someone is going through it with you.

I hope this helps. I'm sure some of the current seminarians in our group have much better suggestions!

Joe Fleener
04-16-2004, 12:54 PM
Parson's Greek Tutor CD-ROM is also very helpful
(Greek Tutor Multimedia CD-Rom):

Here is their description:

"You'll be able to read, write, and pronounce Greek by the time you complete this interactive program. The equivalent of a first-year course, this self-paced program includes 28 units that start with the alphabet and finish with the first chapters of John's Gospel. Includes an online vocabulary builder, quick review charts, and memorization drills. 486, 4MB RAM, Windows 3.1 or higher. From Parsons."

Gontroppo
04-16-2004, 07:37 PM
G'day

The latest version of the program has several extra features. I would make sure you are buying the latest version.
Maybe it has some corrections, too.
I found several errors in the original program.

The most recent version is called Mastering New Testament Greek.