PDA

View Full Version : Update button on the buttonbar?

ericjdaniels
10-17-2005, 11:27 AM
I check for updates fairly regularly, since there isn't a way that BW lets me know when there is an update available (a great change to see in the next version if possible).

Is there a way to intergrate a button on the buttonbar for quick access to updates. I know I know, I'm lazy. I hate clicking help and carefully clicking "updates" rather than the other stuff surrounding it.

I guess any way to cut corners.

Thanks for the help!

Eric

Michael Hanel
10-17-2005, 01:21 PM
Have you emailed the BW support/ideas people? I'm not a computer programmer, but I would think that adding an extra button on the toolbar wouldn't be too difficult of a job. Granted it's all about priorities, and if there's no extra time because they're working on better things, then i guess there's no time, but I bet it'd be something easy to implement to help out lazy users ;) but as always, they're better equipped to answer a question like that than i am :)

jdarlack
10-18-2005, 08:45 AM
...Is there a way to intergrate a button on the buttonbar for quick access to updates. I know I know, I'm lazy. I hate clicking help and carefully clicking "updates" rather than the other stuff surrounding it....I guess any way to cut corners...Great idea Eric! I would definitely send it along to the company through the proper channels. Perhaps it would be a good idea to enable an "auto update" mechanism that a user can turn on or off as they wish...or at least a mechanism that checks on a regular basis for new updates and ONLY informs the user that they are available at startup. (I hate it when a program I am just getting ready to use shuts itself down for the sake of some update that I did not need at the moment! It's quite intrusive!)

Michael Hanel
10-18-2005, 12:55 PM