PDA

View Full Version : Got any advice when feeling dry?

Grantr21
09-14-2005, 12:08 AM
Hello everyone,
I have greatly enjoyed being a part of the BibleWorks forum and seeing the many ways fellow believers offer sound advice to one another. Let me tell you about my problem...
I am a seminary student with a pretty good (though not expert) understanding of Greek and Hebrew, enough at least to open a whole new world in my studies and teaching. My problem is that for some reason I'm having trouble finding the goldmines in the text like I used to. Has anyone gone through this season before? Got any advice or suggested resources?
Thanks for your help everybody!

Grant Rothberg

doc_dave
09-14-2005, 07:49 AM
Read slowly. (Seriously.)

And read this: http://www.desiringgod.org/library/topics/leadership/advice_preach.html

jdarlack
09-14-2005, 09:01 AM
The subject is "precarious" as mentioned in Piper's sermon that doc_dave graciously shared with us HERE (http://www.bibleworks.com/forums/showpost.php?p=4508&postcount=2).

I don't have a sermon to share, but I can share my own experience as a seminarian and graduate of Bible college.

Prior to coming to Seminary I had a bit of a crisis at Bible college. I started to realize that my "academic" bend in personality could easily usurp any kind of spiritual hunger for God's Word. I witnessed friends of mine trading in their spiritual vitality for the sake of academics and felt myself doing the same. I almost thought that I would have to choose between "academics" and heart-felt devotion to God. This was made into a bigger tension given my background in Pentecostalism, which historically tends to downplay any rigorous academic study of Scripture for the sake a purely devotional reading.