PDA

View Full Version : Searching the Lxx

ugotdave
08-30-2005, 08:31 PM
I am searching the Lxx to cross reference the Hebrew scriptures, but I am finding it a challenge to determine the correct Hebrew word that the Greek correlates with. I have very little Hebrew and no Greek knowledge.

Does any one know of an easy way to resolve this issue within BibleWorks ?

A Lxx Greek Hebrew interlinear would be great about know!!!

Mark Eddy
08-31-2005, 10:45 AM
I don't know how you can possibly do what you're trying to do without knowing both Hebrew and Greek.
Even if you knew both languages, you are trying something that is in many cases not possible.
Some books of the LXX indeed are very "literal" translations, even following Hebrew word order and matching up verb tenses in very un-Greek ways. But other books of the LXX are extremely free translations.
E.g. there are a number of extra lines in Proverbs in LXX that have no basis in the Hebrew original.
Verse order and chapter order has been changed in 1-4 Kingdoms (though BibleWorks tries to match these up). In some cases one verse in the LXX covers many verses from the Hebrew from different chapters. And often these are just paraphrases.
In Jeremiah whole chapters or parts of chapters are omitted. Sometimes the omission begins in the middle of a verse.
Why do you want to make such a comparison of the Hebrew and LXX? Perhaps we can find a different way for you to find what you're seeking.
In Christ,
Mark Eddy

MGVH
08-31-2005, 01:49 PM
Actually, there are a few ways to get at your question.
1) Within BW, you could do it word by word and deduce from the glosses (or Strongs) which word in the Hebrew is the word in the Greek.
2) Better, but not available within BW, is to look at the print version of Hatch-Redpath Concordance to the LXX. For every Greek word, an indication is given of what Hebrew word it is translating.